Search Results for:


Ville Valo

Neon Noir

    'In the annals of 21st century alternative rock history there are few artists who cast a longer or more peculiar shadow than Finnish Love Metal pioneer Ville Valo. After all, his band HIM were easily among the most iconic and idiosyncratic groups of the millenium. Zealously revered, gleefully reviled but impossible to ignore, their music left an indelible mark on a worldwide legion of fans. The scarlet letters stood for His Infernal Majesty. Their founder stood for something delightedly out of step with the status quo.

    "We only hoped to temporarily redirect hard rock's blood flow from the nether regions towards the heart", reminisces Ville Valo, the singer, songwriter and primus motor of HIM. Judging by the monolithic presence of the Heartagram in any account of music this side of the millennium it’s apparent that he succeeded.

    Inspired by everyone from Poe to Bukowski and tinged by a penchant for perfumed Sabbathian gloom, Valo’s creative lovechild would produce eight era-defining studio releases and over ten million record sales, not forgetting a Grammy nomination, countless magazine covers, critical acclaim, and the veneration of a generation. Thus, it came as no surprise that the news of a farewell tour in 2017 was greeted with shock and disbelief among devotees and endless speculation as to what or who was to take up the velvet mantle.

    “As fun as the funeral rites for HIM were, it took me more than a few moons to lick my wounds in the shadow of the Heartagram and come up with an excuse to strum and hum again. Eventually, I decided to put a leash on my beloved black dog and we started howling together instead of barking at each other. That's how Loveletting was born".

    Loveletting, the first single off VV's debut album 'Neon Noir' out in early 2023, suggests this new infernal mix of light and shade is nothing short of a landmark release from one of modern music’s most distinctive and intriguing voices. It belongs to the same forlorn world of woe and whimsy once conceived and governed by Valo in HIM, but with the nuanced notes of a fine aged Cabernet. "Artistically speaking the main difference between HIM and VV is the extra line in the Heartagram, but what an exquisite line it is! It’s the Mamas and the Papas dressed up as Metallica on their way to a Halloween bash at the Studio 54, and now who wouldn't want to witness that?"


    01 Echolocate Your Love
    02 Run Away From The Sun
    03 Neon Noir
    04 Loveletting
    05 The Foreverlost
    06 Baby Lacrimarium
    07 Salute The Sanguine
    08 In Trenodia
    09 Heartful Of Ghosts
    10 Saturnine Saturnalia
    11 Zener Solitaire
    12 Vertigo Eyes


    Lies They Tell Our Children

      Incendiary Pittsburgh punk rockers ANTI-FLAG release their 13th album, 'Lies They Tell Our Children'.

      The band state "The album itself is the first conceptual album the band has ever done, spawned out of a compulsive need to not just comment on the dystopian corporate wasteland we all face but to trace it back to the origin of this fate; the political policies, laws, cultural shifts, and lineage of injustice that have led us to the world we live in today."

      The band finishes, "Like the band itself, of course the album is an anti-war statement both in the literal and figurative sense. This is an important moment in history and demands an urgent response, but we thought it was also important that we retrace our footsteps to the beginning of these issues. In order to better understand how to eradicate climate devastation, imperialism, war based economics, systems predicated upon racism, and the increasing belief that these things do not even exist, you have got to take people to the source. This idea is the crux of The Lies They Tell Our Children; put this wretched history in their face and demand their empathy."

      Lies They Tell Our Children was recorded, produced and mixed by Jon Lundin.


      1. Sold Everything
      2. Modern Meta Medicine Ft. Jesse Leach Of Killswitch Engage
      3. Laugh. Cry. Smile. Die. Ft. Shane Told Of Silverstein
      4. The Fight Of Our Lives Ft. Tim Mcilrath Of Rise Against & Brian Baker Of Bad Religion
      5. Imperialism Ft. Ashrita Kumar Of Pinkshift
      6. Victory Or Death (We Gave ‘Em Hell) Ft. Campino Of Die Toten Hosen
      7. The Hazardous
      8. Shallow Graves Ft. Tré Burt
      9. Work & Struggle
      10. Nvrevr Ft. Stacey Dee Of Bad Cop/Bad Cop
      11. Only In My Head

      Death From Above 1979

      Is 4 Lovers

        The first new music since their 2017 release, Outrage! Is Now, Death From Above 1979 return with the unmistakably DFA album ‘Is 4 Lovers’. 


        1. Modern Guy
        2. One + One
        3. Free Animal
        4. N.Y.C. Power Elite Part I
        5. N.Y.C. Power Elite Part 2
        6. Totally Wiped Out
        7. Glass Homes
        8. Love Letter
        9. Mean Streets
        10. No War

        Latest Pre-Sales

        209 NEW ITEMS

        PRESALE: @dinkededition Archive 09 @CateLeBon 'Cyrk & Cyrk I' • 'Cyrk' & 'Cyrk II' both on white vinyl. • A4 hand…
        Fri 30th - 11:00
        Brand new banners up today from @YYYs @denzelcurry and @OFFofficial all of these albums are out today.…
        Fri 30th - 10:55
        The date was wrong on the further info page - the correct date is Friday FEB 3RD. Apologies for the mistake!
        Fri 30th - 9:36
        New music Friday has swung around again 🙌 plenty of great albums, compilations and reissues out today. Come and see…
        Fri 30th - 9:01
        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top