Search Results for:


Brian Auger

Auger Incorporated

    Auger Incorporated is a career spanning triple vinyl / double CD compilation of the legendary Brian Augers’ music. Lauded and loved by artists as diverse as Mose Allison to Emma-Jean Thackray, his tracks have been sampled by Mos Def & Common, his original compositions covered by Sarah Vaughan, Richard 'Groove' Holmes and The Main Ingredient. He is a Grammy nominee and recipient of a US Congressional Certificate of Special Recognition for his ‘contribution to the American art form of Jazz’.

    Auger Incorporated includes classic album tracks, rarities and live concerts performances, some of which have never released before from Brian’s ground-breaking, genre busting catalogue, and reaches back to his early 60’s debut as an poll-winning jazz piano prodigy, his transformation into swinging London’s premier Hammond Organ player via his groups’ The Steam Packet and Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity, and his flagship 70’s band – The Oblivion Express - Auger's blend of jazz, R&B and pop idioms saw him credited as one of the earliest protagonists of jazz fusion.

    Particularly rare highlights include The Steam Packet’s blistering instrumental version of Robert Parkers’s R&B smash Watch Your Step, the 2 tracks by Sonny Boy Williamson backed by Brian The Trinity with a young Jimmy Page as guest, the live 1960’s versions of Save Me & Red Beans & Rice and the recently unearthed version of the jazz dance classic Jeannine featuring the unmistakable voice of Julie Driscoll.

    From The Oblivion Express era, there’s an intense and driving live version of Freedom Jazz Dance, and the alternative mix/radio edit of Marvin Gaye’s Inner City Blues, Brian’s mid 80’s Italo-disco hit ‘Night Train To Nowhere’ – Auger Incorporated has something for the die hard fan and all those new to this extraordinary musicians unmatchable 60 year career.


    A1 The Preacher
    A2 Poinciana
    A3 Watch Your Step – The Steampacket
    A4 The Sidewinder - The Steampacket
    B1 Walkin’ - Sonny Boy Williamson
    B2 See A Man Downstairs - Sonny Boy Williamson
    B3 In & Out
    B4 Red Beans & Rice LIVE (Ce Soir On Danse, Paris)
    B5 I Wanna Take You Higher

    C1 Indian Rope Man
    C2 Light My Fire
    C3 This Wheels On Fire
    C4 Save Me (Live - Piper Club, Rome)
    C5 Jeanine
    D1 Total Eclipse
    D2 A Better Land
    D3 Fill Your Head With Laughter

    E1 Whenever You’re Ready
    E2 Straight Ahead
    E3 Inner City Blues - Alternative Mix
    E4 Freedom Jazz Dance (Live At Winter Garden)
    F1 Planet Earth Calling
    F2 Night Train To Nowhere
    F3 Splatch
    F4 Freddie' S Flight

    Mark De Clive Lowe & Friends

    Freedom - Celebrating The Music Of Pharoah Sanders

    Electronic jazz pioneer, pianist, producer, re-mixer Mark de Clive-Lowe has an envious reputation as a cross genre creative artist who blends acoustic, electronic and world music exploring themes of belonging and identity. Equal parts jazz, house, hip hop and broken beat artist, Jazziz summed him up perfectly - "way before jazz hybridity became a worldwide phenomenon, de Clive-Lowe was busy designing its blueprint.”

    Freedom is a live concert recording made at the Blue Whale, Los Angeles - where Mark put together a Los Angeles based collective made up by very accomplished and suitably talented Teodross Avery – saxophone, Corbin Jones - bass, souzaphone drummer Tommaso Cappellato Carlos Nino – percussion and the highly renowned spiritual jazz vocalist Dwight Trible.

    Reinterpreting a set of Pharoah Sanders highly respected music is not for the creatively timid, and Mark himself sets out the approach and philosophy this collective took when approaching this project: “This album is a celebration of the music, joy and spirit that the great master-teacher Pharoah Sanders brings to the world through his lifelong creative journey. We gathered at Los Angeles’ Blue Whale jazz club to perform some of our favorite Pharoah compositions from a place of love, respect and gratitude for all the inspiration he’s brought to each of us. No one can play this music how Pharoah plays it - his expression is unique and imprinted on every one of his compositions in the deepest of ways. We can’t possibly improve on his mastery and share this music simply as a heartfelt thank you to Pharoah - we celebrate you, and are so grateful for all the timeless - and timely - music you have gifted to the world”.

    Across this 12 track album the unique approach of improvised jazz is embellished with MDCL’s tasteful and subtle touches of electronica played & triggered – from behind his array of equipment he reinvigorates and energises the music with a deft and tasteful approach and the interplay between the musicians including vocalist Dwight Trible is flawless and more akin to a extensively rehearsed studio recording than a live concert, such are the skills of all the players.

    The highlights are many and varied, from the delicate, sensitive Mansions World and Astral Travelling to the intense and rhythmically driven tracks OreSe-Rere and Teodross Avery’s spine tingling saxophone clarion call that opens the ever green ‘You’ve Got To Have Freedom’ is a beautiful tribute from one generation of master musicians to Pharoah – one of the greatest ever.


    Millie says: A beautiful, touching tribute of Pharoah Sanders, Mark De Clive Lowe and a host of other artists reimagine his powerful music which is no easy task but it's delivered in the most celebratory way, filled with emotion and admiration for a great musician while exploring important themes of freedom and identity.


    A1 Upper Egypt
    A2 Elevation
    A3 Colors
    B1 You’ve Got To Have Freedom
    B2 Thembi
    B3 Astral Travelling
    C1 The Creator Has A Master Plan
    C2 Greeting To Saud (Brother McCoy Tyner)
    C3 Love Is Everywhere
    D1 Mansions World
    D2 Ore-Se-Rere
    D3 Memories Of Lee Morgan

    01 Upper Egypt
    02 Elevation
    03 Colors
    04 You’ve Got To Have Freedom
    05 Thembi
    06 Astral Travelling
    01 The Creator Has A Master Plan
    02 Greeting To Saud (Brother McCoy Tyner)
    03 Love Is Everywhere
    04 Mansions World
    05 Ore-Se-Rere
    06 Memories Of Lee Morgan

    Latest Pre-Sales

    154 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top