Search Results for:


Scene Unseen return with their second release, following the debut release from Jinjé and this time we see a release from a pioneer in the Chilean electronic music and hip-hop scenes, DJ Raff. Recommended for fans of Nick Leon, Dengue Dengue Dengue, Nicola Cruz and Tra Tra Trax.

Raff’s routes were originally in the hip-hop scene back in his native, Chile. His influence of this scene cannot be understated, as his name appeared in the credits of over 50 hip-hop releases coming out of the country. Most notably with Anna Tijoux and Makiza, as well as seeing his own track "Latino & Proud" used in the EA Sports game, FIFA 2012 and then later as the theme music for the Comedy Central show, Broad City. As time moved on, so did Raff’s sound and he started to move into more of an instrumental focus, moving away from any vocals and the hip-hop rhythms. Since then he has released on Mutante Discos, Nacional Records, Wonderwheel Recordings and his own Pirotecnia label, among others. As well as remixing for the mighty Dengue Dengue Dengue, Landikhan and more.

Raff’s new EP for Scene Unseen, “Estado Líquido”, is an EP of true beauty once again, showcasing four tracks that combine his signature Latin American vibes with his hip-hop influences.

The title track opens the EP with the calm samples and inspiration from the sound of the ocean, an emotive nod to the people attempting to travel from Africa to Europe over the years and the struggles they have faced.

“Basta” translates to ‘Enough’ in Spanish. This track is inspired by the large-scale protests in Chile back in 2019 and lasting until March 2020. An electronic hip-hop beat alongside a constant synth arpeggio that was something more common to his early productions. “Casualidad” is a reference to a more personal stage of Raff’s life, with soft, bright, and uplifting melodies flowing between more fine percussive works.

Final track, “Ceremonia”, combines percussive African rhythms with melancholic synth leads and pads, alongside a deep solid bass line and repetitive chants. The repetitive chants and percussions hold together the opposite worlds of happy festive rhythms and nostalgic melodies, taking the song to a place where both feelings combine in harmony.

Artwork is made by DMNC (Francisco Meneses) a designer, art director and VJ from Santiago de Chile. Previous work is linked to 3D animation and he actively collaborates with various electronic music projects across Latin America.


Matt says: Beguiling beats and exotic textures decorate this splendidly inventive EP from Chilean producer DJ Raff.


A1. Estado Liquido
A2. Basta!
B1. Casualidad
B2. Ceremonia

Kicking off proceedings on new label, Scene Unseen is Yorkshire’s finest, Jinjé aka Lee J Malcolm.

Scene Unseen will focus on exploring and showcasing scenes from around the world (some seen or some maybe unseen), as well as releasing music from artists who incorporate sounds from across the globe within a music style that's closer to home. This is where Jinjé steps in, delivering an EP of Afro-funk and techno hybrids. He draws upon his well versed electronic production techniques and combines them with rhythms inspired by African and Indian music, using instruments (played and recorded live by Jinjé) and field recordings from both regions.

Jinjé has released on labels such as Messrs. Kicks & Drums, EPM Music, Mesh and Ostgut Ton. He was also a founding member and mainstay in the Leeds band, Vessels (Different Recordings), until leaving a couple of years ago to concentrate on solo projects.

The track names tell all, as Jinjé gives a clear nod to the Africanism is his music. First track, “Ngoma” is a name used across Africa to describe certain drums and percussive instruments, which can be heard here, like Djembes from the Conga region, as well as live and acoustic components, blended with modular and other electronic sounds.

“Burkina Faso” takes us west and hits the ground running with a vocal sample of Tribal women from the area, singing praise and joy to engineers who have come to provide fresh water to the village: ‘Praise God for they have come to build us a well.’ The progression of the track is based around this joy and develops nicely alongside some intense bass and drums.

“Dusk” is inspired by thoughts of the Serengeti planes at night fall, all built around Jinjé's live M'bira plugged into a modular synth, grouped with live flute and field recordings from India which provide additional percussion.

“Ya Maji” is a collection of high energy rhythms from a Moroccan frame drum, congas, clapping, live bass, distorted marimba and the mighty Korg Ms20 playing the lead synth lines.

Last up is “Jara”, a nod to Steve Reich and his six marimbas, as well as drawing inspiration from Fela Kuti. Vocal samples bring in more of the field recordings Jinjé made in India, as well as the clapping elements. Acoustic and electronic sounds intertwine to great effect and sum up the EP as a whole.


Matt says: An amalgamation of styles, birthed in Yorkshire and with a trans-global outlook. This is the kinda shit the kids at Dekmantel go nuts for - upfront productions, exotic influences, unusual rhythms all coalesce to make an award winning formula!


1. Ngoma
2. Burkina Faso
3. Dusk
4. Ya Maji
5. Jara

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top