Search Results for:


Five dazzling remixes of Population One's 'Hippnotic Culture' 2LP by the Detroit minimalist himself. Kicking off with a 20th Anniversary Mix of 'Rush Hour', the track that inspired our company name! Big big tip and a great honor… Play it loud!
Population One, also known as Terrence Dixon, offered a first remix of his mysterious, minimal Detroit track 'Rush Hour' for the celebration of the label's 10th anniversary and now blesses us with new takes on five 'Hippnotic Culture' album tracks. The impressive 'Hippnotic Culture' LP was originally released in 1995 on the long defunct Utensil label, which was run by Claude Young. 


1. Rush Hour (20th Anniversary Mix)
2. Warped (Remixed)
3. Cosmic Drill (Remixed)
4. Lovechild (Remixed)
5. Lost In Space (Remixed) 

Dutch one-to-watch, Oceanic, finally makes his debut on Rush Hour. The outstanding "Total Comfort" EP, displays his skills as an increasingly confident producer - taking cues both from classic Detroit and UK techno whilst looking at the future with four slices of delicately woven, post-modern breakbeat techno.

Undeniably suited for Rush Hours forward-gazing approach, the combination of sharp, glacial synthesis, galvanized soundscapes and shimmering, radioactive patina play perfectly into the multi-dynamic, modern arrangements which switch up on the flick of a beat and take the listener on a where-to-next audio journey. Mega stuff. 


Matt says: Newly signed Rush Hour artist proudly announces his arrival via this multi-pronged 12" debut (plus a rather over styled press shoot if you ask me ;)). If you're into the futuristic sounds of AD 93 and R&S offshoot Apollo, then this my friends if 4 U!


A1. Total Comfort
A2. Q On 6
B1. Foam To
B2. Connect In Rest

Arp Frique

Nyame Ye / Oi Quem Que Nos

Autumn promises a brand new LP from Dutch digital exotica expert Arp Frique, and the artist whets our appetite with this superb 7" single, perfect for summer enjoyment. On the A-side "Nyame Ye" bursts into technicolour with African drum boxes, highlife riffs and sharp synthwork all supporting the ecstatic vocal from Mariseya, while the B-side brings us a cooler downtempo jam featuring vocals from Americo Brito. So snap this up pronto and repeat until September.


A. Nyame Ye
B. Oi Quem Que Nos

Various Artists

Pantsula! - The Rise Of Electronic Dance Music In South Africa, 1988-90

Late 80s South African dance floor winners only! Selected by DJ Okapi and Antal, the compilation holds tracks by Jivaro, The Hard Workers, Ayobayo Band, S.Y.B. & many more. This is the sharp electronic music that fuelled the local Pantsula dances during the 80s and 90s . A must have for fans of Bubblegum and Kwaito music. The 12 tracks selected for "Pantsula!" come from a very unique, very different time and place. They represent the birth of electronic dance music in South Africa, through the songs of one particular independent label from the time: Music Team. The sound represents the culmination of the bubblegum era, when South Africa’s disco artists outgrew their American influences and forged an increasingly electronic and ‘local’ pop sound. Evolving over time since long before the 80s, the distinctly South African subculture of "Pantsula" is more closely associated with an attitude, a style and a signature dance, rather than any specific sound. In the late 1980s and early 90s, Pantsula was also the name given to a new type of dance music taking over the streets of South Africa, influenced by earlier bubblegum and the rise of Shangaan Disco, but with a far broader appeal and a harder, purely electronic sound.


1 The Equals - New Lover
2 Jazino - Ushelakanjani
3 Jivaro - What Next (dub Mix)
4 S.Y.B - Jika Magogo
5 Scotch Band - Watsotasama
6 Kakappa - Sisonke
7 Spirro - Ma Hero (Dub Mix)
8 The Hard Workers - Ayoba-yo
9 Ayobayo Band - Sorry Bra
10 Rush Feat. Linda Ziqubu - Sobohla Manyosi
11 Chaka - Via Tembisa
12 La Viva - Go Siami


Arachno / Move To Trash

    The latest volume of Rush Hour’s very occasional 7” series finds UK producer EFA at the controls, dropping a snapping debut of crisp and acidic electronics. A-side cut ‘Arachno’ boasts the skitterish rhythms of a Hague electro classic alongside eight legged acid lines, moonlit keys and all manner of squelchy fx abuse. Dramatic, cinematic and precision engineered to turn a club inside out. Over on the flipside, “Move To Trash” takes a driving Liaisons Dangereuses style sequence, tough 4/4 and a little bit of chipset weirdness and spins further and further out of control.


    Patrick says: Weird and wonderful acid magic from EFA on Rush Hour – Big Tip as our Dutch friends would say!

    Torn Hawk

    Men With No Memory

      Torn Hawk re-emerges on this ace limited edition double 7" edition. Intimate, darkwave bedroom ballads, plate-reverbed electronic punk and high degrees of rhythmic noise characterize this inimitable New Yorker, making him somewhat of a favourite here at Piccadilly. Across five tracks we get a further glimpse into what makes this freak tick, as he gracefully constructs a collage of abrasive and visceral textures underpinned with a dark, psilocybin-tainted sludge that makes you feel like you're in that scene out of Fear And Loathing when the carpet's melting and Hunter's struggling to keep a grip. Torn Hawk ably demonstrates the fractal and sonic fluctuations that occur during a peak psychedelic experience like few can, but rather than revel in the flowery, faux-hippy nature of the trip, he takes it to the darkest and most tumultuous parts of the journey; what a legend! Comes with fold out, full colour insert. TIP! 


      1. Men With No Memory
      2. Poser
      3. With Butterfly Knives
      4. Stealing Geodes From The Nature Company
      5. Not Quite Music

      Toasty AF, extra thick hoodies just in time for the colder months from Detroit's no. 1 techno militia! JUST IN: Und…
      Wed 20th - 10:15
      Cool animation for @dinkededition 155 @ENTERBODEGA 'Broken Equipment' • Clear Teal Vinyl. • Bonus Flexi Disc with…
      Tue 19th - 6:30
      PRESALE: @dinkededition 155 @ENTERBODEGA 'Broken Equipment' • Clear Teal Vinyl. • Bonus Flexi Disc with non-LP so…
      Tue 19th - 6:00
      Not one but TWO @dinkededition announcements today 🙌 The next one is at 7pm. It’s a biggie too. Don’t sleep.…
      Tue 19th - 5:13
      PRESALE: @dinkededition 154 @BoyHarsher 'The Runner (OST)' • 140g Crystal Clear/Blood Red Marble vinyl. • 'The Ru…
      Tue 19th - 4:00
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top