Search Results for:



Si Algún Día Has De Caer / Papeles Rotos

Mampön are back! unleashing their Afrobeat enchantment on a new 45 release.

Crafted for the dancefloor, "Si Algún Dia Has De Caer" combines party beats with Spanish lyrics. Hectór Rodriguez, the band's guitarist and lead singer, creates a deep connection between celebration and introspection on an enchanting vocal-rhodes introduction before the rhythm takes you for a dance.

On the B-side, Mampön maintains the Afrobeat tradition as more than just dance music—it's a protest, a resistance. "Papeles Rotos" portrays people as slaves with rights on wet, torn paper, urging listeners to forge their path regardless of the cost.

Mampön emerges as a true soft power, destined for every dance floor, spreading Afrobeat magic.


1. Si Algún Día Has De Caer
2. Papeles Rotos

Last summer we took a record trip to California and when in LA, we had the chance to meet Dan Ubick, a multi-instrumentalist, composer, producer, DJ and one of the nicests guys you'll ever meet. We met on a friday night in North Hollywood around tacos and Micheladas and discussed music, his tour experiences with De La Soul, and talked about records and more records. We had been following Dan's work since the early 2000s as he was an original member of the legendary Breakestra, brain child of Connie Price & The Keystones and founding member of reggae bands The Lions and Night Owls.

After a while into our conversation it was clear that we spoke the same language musically so a collaboration between us seemed logical. He suggested recording a couple of instrumentals which morphed into the funky, Brazilian-inspired hip-hop 7" you hold in your hands. To enhance the flavor Dan brought in his good friend and ace percussion player Bobby Easton, singer Diana Purim (daughter of Brazilian luminaries Airto Moreira and Flora Purim) to help sing the hook and the one-and-only Sadat X from NYC's legendary Brand Nubian, whom he's been lucky enough to work with a few times over the years.

The result is a funky, moody, psychedelic mid-tempo vehicle for Sadat X's poignant verses about the similarities between living in to the projects of New York City and the favelas of Rio de Janeiro - the good, the bad and everything in between which graces Side A. Side B features the Instrumental for listeners to hone in on Connie Price's funky drums, Julius Augustus' slinky bassline, Richard Donovan's haunting organ and synth parts, and Bobby Easton's saturnine and expressive berimbau, cuica, caxixi and reco-reco.


1. Favelas (feat. Sadat X & Diana Purim)
2. Favelas (Instrumental)

The Circle Of Confusion

Soul Of A Lion / Soul Of A Lion (Dub Mix) [feat. Wayne Paul]

Building on the success of their first releases featuring Cornel Campbell, the Swiss producer duo "The Circle of Confusion" is set to drop a new single on Rocafort Records, featuring none other than English old-school reggae singer Wayne Paul.

Active in the 90's and 2000's within the London label Big Dada, the artist of Jamaican origin sank into alcohol and drugs, before rising from his ashes fifteen years later. Now he's back with a powerful message of hope on this track called " Soul Of A Lion ". Wayne's soulful voice blends perfectly with the modern reggae feel created by The Circle Of Confusion.

An 80s roots-oriented sound mixed with a crusty digital edge backed with a dope dub track makes the perfect 45 for reggae heads.


1. Soul Of A Lion (feat. Wayne Paul)
2. Soul Of A Lion (Dub Mix) [feat. Wayne Paul]

The Barcelona trio behind the excellent Isla Fantasia from a few years ago are back to enliven another summer season with an anthemic, Ibiza-esque dance floor filler. Reminiscent of an early 90s Euro-house stomper, the production does what it says on the tin: solid four to the floor action, enchanting female vocals(courtesy of Brigitte Emaga), and a refrain that will have 'the brightest light' still lodged in your brain way into autumn.

The flip side, Mistura Magica, is a percussively-driven instrumental that feels like dancing through a tropical rainforest. With just the right amount of rise and fall to keep the rhythmic tension tight with anticipation, it's a journey of Brazilian beats peppered with exotica electronica. Sandwiched between a heavy pounding drums is the sweetest flute (courtesy of Irene Reig), taking the limelight like a bird in flight. A synesthetic track that has you listening in full colour!


1. The Brightest Light (feat. Brigitte Emaga)
2. Mistura Magica (feat. Irene Reig)

The Mighty Mocambos

International Cypher / Queen 16 Theme

Back in 2013 we took ourselves on a discographic adventure without really knowing what we were doing! Who would have thought that 10 years later, we'd be releasing our 50th 45 RPM record?

As luck would have it, we are happy to announce our new release, in collab with one of the flagship bands from today's funk scene, Germany's own "Mighty Mocambos", who have been delivering their instrumental groove and Caribbean vibes via their alter ego, "Bacao Rhythm & Steel Band" across Europe for more than fifteen years.

So, what better way to immortalize the raw and intense live sound that they're famous for than releasing a record on our favourite format?

Two sides recorded live on tape during the "Queen 16 B-Girl battle" in Berlin in 2022. Somewhat reminiscent of Can's "Vitamin C", the A side "International Cypher" has an oriental funk feel thanks to the use of the sharp sound of an electric Phin (Thai guitar), while the straight up percussive funk instrumental "Queen 16 theme" pays tribute to the B-Girls only festival, of which the soundtrack was designed for the occasion.


1. International Cypher
2. Queen 16 Theme

Oscar Martos

So Lonely / Mi Vida (feat. Essy)

Rocafort Records say hello to 2023 with a deep, sultry lilt to usher in the new year. Madrid-based producer, Oscar Martos, offers two wide-hipped tracks that are not rushing to go anywhere – apart from a soft shuffle to the feet and booty.

Both tracks feature the sweet vocals of Cuban singer, Essy, who adds a sexy heat and dreamy languor. 'So Lonely' has a hint of a 90s soul R'n'B hit; not overly produced and left to breathe its groove with instant hook and harmonies. B side, 'Mi Vida' carries a similar imprint, this time with a more pronounced latino/hip-hop sabor. Confident mid-tempo tracks that could easily seal the end of many hot, sweaty nights.

After having worked on a variety of other artists' projects, Martos is finally ready to blow his own trumpet.


1. So Lonely (feat. Essy)
2. Mi Vida (feat. Essy)

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top