Search Results for:


Hannah Peel & Paraorchestra

The Unfolding

    There are pieces of music that seek to tell us deeper stories. Others harness the talents of the players at their disposal in adventurous ways. Then there are the rare, generous works that make us think back to our roots as human beings and to our shared beginnings in the universe, that lift us in their melodies, rhythms and textures, that carry us with them.

    The Unfolding is all of these things. An extraordinary eight-part collaboration between composer Hannah Peel (Mercury Prize and Emmy nominee) and Paraorchestra, it was made over three years in precious morsels of time around a global pandemic. These circumstances – unexpected when the collaboration began – add weight to its explorations in sound about who we are, where we came from, and who we could all be. The Unfolding also explores Paraorchestra’s progressive idea of what an orchestra should be, mixing analogue, digital and assistive instruments with a unique ensemble of disabled and non-disabled musicians to make magic happen, and accessible to all.


    Side A
    A1. The Universe Before Matter [10:58]
    A2. Wild Animal [3:55]
    Side B
    B1. Passage [5:22]
    B2. The Unfolding [5:47]
    Side C
    C1. If After Weeks Of Early Sun [4:16]
    C2. Perhaps It Made Us Happy For A Minute [4:17]
    C3. We Are Part Mineral [6:06]
    Side D
    D1. Part Cloud [10:31]
    D2. The Unfolding Credits Instrumental Version [02:19] *vinyl Exclusive Not On CD*
    D3. The Unfolding Credits [02:19]

    Loney Dear

    A Lantern And A Bell

      Loney dear is the singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Emil Svanängen’s idiosyncratic musical project where classic song-writing meets complex productions – both wide open and uplifting as well as sensitive and heart breaking…

      Recorded by Svanángen with producer Emanuel Lundgren in a mythical studio on western Södermalm in Stockholm, ‘A Lantern and A Bell’ is Loney dear’s second album for Real World, following 2017’s self-titled release.

      Maritime themes permeate across ‘A Lantern and A Bell’ - the album arrives bearing artwork depicting the international nautical flag for distress and Emil’s voice is frequently bolstered by diffused water sounds at dark low frequencies and the calls of sea birds. For those who know their Loney dear, the constant references to sea and ships are hardly something new. All that is an important part of my inner life, maybe a romantic dream of adventure, but also a phobia, a danger I cannot help but be drawn to, says Emil; Near where I live, freighters pass by every day and the sounds of their engines get into my head. And further into the music.

      Speaking about Emil’s new record - on which he has consulted as a sounding board, label founder Peter Gabriel says; Sad soulful melodies that create space in your head that fill with memories dreams and tenderness. I am very proud that we are working with such a gifted songwriter. When you’re isolating, what better than to be wrapped up in these beautiful imaginative constructions - the work of a master. 


      1. Mute / All Things Pass
      2. Habibi (A Clear Black Line)
      3. Trifles
      4. Go Easy On Me Now (Sirens + Emergencies)
      5. Last Night / Centurial Procedures (the 1900s)
      6. Oppenheimer
      7. Darling
      8. Interval / Repeat
      9. A House And A Fire

      Bokanté & Metropole Orkest (Conducted By Jules Buckley)

      What Heat

        Bokanté - founded by Michael League (Snarky Puppy) - is a truly global band, with players from five countries and four continents. Metropol Orkest is part jazz big band, part symphony orchestra, helmed by English conductor Jules Buckley. The message is laced throughout new album ‘What Heat’… and it is urgent. Injustice is raging all around.

        For fans of Snarky Puppy, Oumou Sangaré, Buena Vista Social Club, Les Amazones d’Afrique, Anjelique Kidjo, Ghost-Note, Bill Laurence, Afro jazz.


        All The Way Home
        Lè An Gadé-w En Zyé
        Bòd Lanmè Pa Lwen
        Don’t Do It
        Chambre à Échos
        La Maison En Feu

        The Breath

        Carry Your Kin

          The Breath are Irish singer Rioghnach Connolly, Stuart McCallum (guitarist of The Cinematic Orchestra) and McCallum’s fellow Cinematic alumni, pianist John Ellis and drummer Luke Flowers.

          Born out of Manchester’s fertile music scene they mix Irish folk influences with mesmerizing guitar riffs, anthemic themes and powerful hooks. Connolly’s soulful vocals are interwoven into the electronic fabric of McCallum’s distinctive soundworld.

          In turns hypnotic, lush, powerfully raw and raucously punchy, their songs entrance, uplift and break your heart as The Breath conjure a kaleidoscope of sound that perfectly frames Connolly’s raw songs and soul cleansing vocals.

          Recorded in Manchester and at Real World Studios and mixed by sound guru Tchad Blake.

          Latest Pre-Sales

          119 NEW ITEMS

          T-minus 1 hour until #BlackFriday @RSDUK stock goes ONLINE. Full details of what's gonna be available here >>>…
          Sat 27th - 7:00
          Great choices here from our very own Barry aka @AptaMusic Have a read and give the playlist a listen 🎧…
          Fri 26th - 6:17
          TONIGHT! Doors at 8pm people. Ticket/vinyl bundle still available 👇 @nightanddaycafe
          Fri 26th - 3:32
          Brand new banner up today from Richard Dawson & Circle celebrating their album ‘Henki’ which is out today.…
          Fri 26th - 2:08
          E-newsletter —
          Sign up
          Back to top