Search Results for:


Paul Oakenfold

Bunkka - 2023 Reissue

    The first time vinyl pressing of Paul Oakenfold's 1 million selling classic debut "Bunkka". The original vinyl release from 2002 featured remixes, whereas this version contains the original album mixes. It has been remastered + pressed on 180g heavyweight double vinyl. The inner sleeves packaging includes extra iconic 'robogirls' imagery designed by Michael Nash Associates + photographer Matthew Donaldson that was originally used on the single packshots from the album campaign.

    A galaxy of music stars, including Nelly Furtado, Perry Farrell, Ice Cube, and Tricky as featured artists. It also contains his 3 biggest selling tracks: "Starry Eyed Surprise" with Shifty Shellshock from Crazy Town, "Ready Steady Go," with vocals by So Solid Crew's Asher D. + "Southern Sun" with Carla Werner. Furtado and Tricky guest on album closer "The Harder They Come," while Farrell sings on "Time of Your Life." Ice Cube chimes in on "Get Em Up," followed by former Grant Lee Buffalo frontman Grant Lee Philips on "Motion". Author Hunter S. Thompson, and vocalists Emiliana Torrini and Tiff Lacey also make appearances on 'Bunkka'.

    21 years old & till sounding fresh, it's now become a timeless classic.


    1. Ready Steady Go (feat. Asher D)
    2. Southern Sun (feat. Carla Werner)
    3. Time Of Your Life (feat. Perry Farrell)
    4. Hypnotized (feat. Tiff Lacey)
    5. Nixon's Spirit (feat. Hunter S Thompson)
    6. Zoo Zoo York (feat. Clint Mansell & Kronos Quartet)
    7. Hold Your Hand (feat. Emiliana Torrini)
    8. Starry Eyed Surprise (feat. Shifty Shellshock)
    9. Get Em Up (feat. Ice Cube)
    10. Motion (feat. Grant-Lee Philips)
    11. The Harder They Come (feat. Nelly Furtado + Tricky)

    Paul Oakenfold Ft. Carla Werner

    Southern Sun Remixes - Inc. Tiësto / Gabriel & Dresden Remixes

      Reissue of Paul Oakenfold's classic "Southern Sun" from 2002, now
      remastered for 2023 - this remix package features the full 9 min 44 sec trance journey by Tiësto & the equally dazzling Gabriel & Dresden remix, both of which have seen their stocks rise inline with the recent upinterest in trance; meaning 2nd copies fetch quite the pretty penny. 

      Originally released as a double A side with "Ready Steady Go", it peaked at No. 16 in the UK chart. It was taken from 1M worldwide selling album "Bunkka" which was released the following month (and is also reissued alongside this single). Featuring vocals by Carla Werner, the original version and various remixes have been included on over 70 compilation albums. 

      Tiësto's remix is an absolute beast of a track. Pulsating and rippling with various arps and leads, it epitomizes the long form trance epic - with a detailed and adventurous arrangement which constantly reveals more tantalizing hooks and endorphin-rushing greatness, the soaring vocal only surfacing towards the second half of the track. 

      Gabriel & Dresden's remix contrasts jagged, hard-edge bass notes with an eerie mood and squishy background breaks. The vocal emerges early, guiding the track alongside an almost live bassline. If anything is accentuates the pop-like sensibilities of the track; with the focus on that vocal part; but the production surrounding it is nothing short of breaktaking, even some 20 years later. 


      1. Southern Sun (Tiësto Remix)
      2. Southern Sun (Gabriel & Dresden Unplugged Remix)

      Latest Pre-Sales

      223 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top