Search Results for:


Jeb Loy Nichols

United States Of The Broken Hearted

    On-U Sound are proud to present a new album from longtime friend and associate of the label, Jeb Loy Nichols. Produced by Adrian Sherwood, with careful arrangements framing twelve beautiful, acoustic-based songs. The album features contributions from the likes of Martin Duffy (Primal Scream/Felt) and Ivan “Celloman” Hussey, fresh from his work on the massively acclaimed duo of Horace Andy albums, Midnight Rocker and Midnight Scorchers, both of which featured songwriting contributions from Jeb Loy.

    Jeb Loy comments: "The United States Of The Broken Hearted has been forty years in the making. I’ve known Adrian, and considered him one of my closest friends, for that long. During that time we’ve spent more hours listening, and talking about, music than anything else. Reggae, Country, Folk, Jazz, Soul; it’s been the backdrop to our friendship. Adrian introduced me to some of my favourite music; Count Ossie, Culture, Harry Beckett, Mulatu Astatke. Through the years we’ve listened to Sun Ra, Lee Perry, Ornette Coleman, Johnny Cash, Woody Guthrie. A couple years ago, on a visit to Adrian, I mentioned Gram Parsons’s concept of ‘American Cosmic Music’, the melting mix of musical genres that constitutes a uniquely American sound. We talked about recording a record that incorporated all the influences I’d gathered, from Bluegrass to Jazz to Reggae to Soul. The United States Of The Broken Hearted is that record. We wanted to include Folk (Deportees), Country (Satisfied Mind), protest songs (I Hate The Capitalist System), and songs of my own that bore the marks of those that had gone before. I sang the songs and played guitar; Adrian brought in friends and fellow travellers to finish them. It’s all there, Soul, Jazz, Country, Folk; and underlying everything, Adrian’s Reggae infused production.”

    Adrian Sherwood adds: “This is Jeb’s ‘Great American Songbook’, he’s become such a great singer and songwriter over the years. This is a beautiful piece of work reminiscent of our mutual love for the Miracle album I made with Bim Sherman. I’m really proud of this record and it’s a fitting follow-up to Long Time Traveller.”


    Monsters On The Hill
    Big Troubles Come In Small Doors
    Fold Me Up
    I Hate The Capitalist System
    No Hiding Place For Me
    What Does A Man Do All Day
    United States Of The Broken Hearted
    I’m Just A Visitor
    I’ve Enjoyed As Much Of This Good Life
    Looking For Some Rain
    Satisfied Mind

    Various Artists

    Pay It All Back Volume 8

      On-U Sound is proud to present the latest volume in the much-loved and collectable series of On-U Sound label samplers, packed with exclusives, alternate mixes and previews of upcoming releases. Includes unreleased tracks from Lee “Scratch” Perry, Tackhead, African Head Charge, Mark Stewart, Creation Rebel, Andy Fairley and more.

      The release of the new compilation also coincides with a very special concert taking place at the Forum in London, originally scheduled for 2020 but delayed because of the pandemic. Celebrating 40 years of the On-U Sound label, it brings together musicians and artists from at least four different continents for a unique evening with Horace Andy, Tackhead, African Head Charge, Creation Rebel and most of the other musicians featured on the album.

      Label boss Adrian Sherwood comments: “As usual with the Pay It All Back series, the intention is to promote our upcoming releases and productions. Also on offer are previously unreleased gems, versions of tracks exclusive to this release and more from artists that we’re keen to promote. Sadly in the last year we have lost so many music giants from amongst us, including Lee “Scratch” Perry, George Oban and John Sharpe. Lee Perry laughed at death. It was to him just a part of life and another beginning...I trust Lee. I’m very proud of this album, it goes out to all On-U Crew, our missing and irreplaceable friends.”


      Matt says: One of the longest serving UK dubwise labels and one of its most visionary and creative. Adrian Sherwood's maverick imprint return for volume 8 of its sporadic, long running, highly collectable compilation series. Crucial!


      LP Tracklisting
      A1. MAD 45 You’ll Own Nothing
      A2. Lee “Scratch” Perry Ft. LSK Many Names Of God
      A3. Tackhead Ft. LSK Rulers And Foolers
      A4. Rita Morar Meri Awaaz Suno (Hear My Voice)
      A5. African Head Charge Asalatua
      A6. Horace Andy Watch Over Them
      B1. Mark Stewart Storm Crow
      B2. Creation Rebel Stonebridge Warrior
      B3. Jeb Loy Nichols What Does A Man Do All Day?
      B4. Denise Sherwood This Road
      B5. Sherwood & Pinch Ft. Daddy Freddy, Ghetto Priest And Jen Jen We No Normal (Anger Management)
      B6. Andy Fairley Your Best Tune

      Bonus Tracks Accessible Via DL Card:

      Tackhead Ft. MAD 45 - I Don’t Wanna Work A Fake Job
      Sherwood & Pinch - Excessive Drinking
      Ital Horns - Metropolis
      LSK - Money Masters
      Andy Fairley - Deranged Man

      Please Note That The Rita Morar And Mark Stewart Tracks Are Vinyl Only, Are Not Currently Available Digitally, And Therefore Are Not Accessible Via The Download Card. 

      CD Tracklisting
      01. MAD 45 - You’ll Own Nothing
      02. Lee “Scratch” Perry Ft. LSK - Many Names Of God
      03. Tackhead Ft. LSK - Rulers & Foolers
      04. Rita Morar - Meri Awaaz Suno (Hear My Voice)
      05. African Head Charge - Asalatua
      06. Horace Andy - Watch Over Them
      07. Mark Stewart - Storm Crow
      08. Creation Rebel - Stonebridge Warrior
      09. Jeb Loy Nichols - What Does A Man Do All Day?
      10. Denise Sherwood - This Road
      11. Sherwood & Pinch Ft. Daddy Freddy, Ghetto Priest And Jen Jen - We No Normal (Anger Management)
      12. Andy Fairley - Your Best Tune
      13. Lesson 7 & Scott Crow Ft. Doug Wimbish - Andthe (Arise) Adrian Sherwood Remix
      14. Hebden’s HiFi - Segue 8
      15. Tackhead Ft. MAD 45 - I Don’t Wanna Work A Fake Job
      16. Sherwood & Pinch - Excessive Drinking
      17. Ital Horns - Metropolis
      18. LSK - Money Masters
      19. Andy Fairley - Deranged Man

      Latest Pre-Sales

      209 NEW ITEMS

      PRESALE: @dinkededition Archive 09 @CateLeBon 'Cyrk & Cyrk I' • 'Cyrk' & 'Cyrk II' both on white vinyl. • A4 hand…
      Fri 30th - 11:00
      Brand new banners up today from @YYYs @denzelcurry and @OFFofficial all of these albums are out today.…
      Fri 30th - 10:55
      The date was wrong on the further info page - the correct date is Friday FEB 3RD. Apologies for the mistake!
      Fri 30th - 9:36
      New music Friday has swung around again 🙌 plenty of great albums, compilations and reissues out today. Come and see…
      Fri 30th - 9:01
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top