Search Results for:


Abstract Orchestra's composer, leader, arranger and producer Rob Mitchell has now added remixing to his already notable list of credits, in this case turning his hand to Abstract's MADVILLAIN project. Rob has worked with many artists during his busy career; The Haggis Horns, Rag 'n' Bone Man, Sharon Jones and the Dap–Kings, Brand New Heavies, and Slum Village, alongside many others but it was the orchestra's work he wanted to revisit. Seeing the pandemic as an opportunity to spend more time in the studio, Rob spent several months polishing his production skills before embarking on this remix project, he wanted to make sure he did it justice. Working under the moniker Ghostlife, a nod to the fabled anonymity of rapper MF DOOM, Rob has reworked the big band orchestration of Abstract, creating a beat led affair with greater dance floor appeal.

For Abstract Orchestra MADVILLAIN REMIXES, Ghostlife cherry picked ten tracks from Abstract's two-album project and plays with a higher BPM count within the hip hop aesthetic of the original. The tracks include "Raid", "Fancy Clown", "Curls", and "Figaro" and in this case Ghostlife has forgone the big arrangements Abstract is known for, rather he has coaxed out hooks and samples from their tracks and produced something he hope will appeal to a different crowd. There is dancefloor potential in "Eye","Accordian" and bass heavy "Borrowed Time" while the reworks of 'Fancy Clown" and "Curls" would fit well into any radio show.


1. Raid (Ghostlife Remix)
2. Fancy Clown (Ghostlife Remix)
3. Eye (Ghostlife Remix)
4. Accordion (Ghostlife Remix)
5. Curls (Ghostlife Remix)
6. Bistro (Ghostlife Remix)
7. Borrowed Time (Ghostlife Remix)
8. Fire In The Hole (Ghostlife Remix)
9. Figaro (Ghostlife Remix)
10. Fluid (Ghostlife Remix)


Madvillainy 2 - The Madlib Remix

    Madlib has never been one to respect convention. Back in 2008, he created one of his more respected forms of alleged musical sacrilege. In need of some headphone listening before a ten-hour plane journey to Tokyo, Madlib reworked his classic MF DOOM collaboration ‘Madvillainy’ in its entirety. Previously available only with a hyper-limited box set and on a tiny run of white label vinyl, ‘Madvillainy 2: The Madlib Remixes’ is now reissued properly on wax, packaged in a full colour sleeve of the original limited CD artwork, plus comic book insert.


    Madvillainy - Repress

      MF DOOM and Madlib's leftfield hip hop opus finally drops, featuring the singles "Money Folder", "Curls" and "All Caps" plus more out-there raps and breaks. Medaphoar, Quasimoto, Wildchild, Viktor Vaughn and Stacy Epps all come along to join Doom on the mic, as Madlib drops some of the most disturbed backing sounds of his career (he even samples Daedelus at one point!), milking his B-movie samples and impenetrable rhythms. With short hits and a quickfire tracklist, "Madvillainy" is an explosive and schizophrenic experience, the most complete Madlib hip hop production since Quasimoto's "The Unseen".


      A1. The Illest Villains
      A2. Accordion
      A3. Meat Grinder
      A4. Bistro
      A5. Raid
      B1. America's Most Blunted
      B2. Sickfit
      B3. RainBows
      B4. Curls
      B5. Do Not Fire
      B6. Money Folder
      C1. Scene Two (Vouce Skit)
      C2. Shadows Of Tomorrow (featuring Quasimoto)
      C3. Operation Lifesaver Aka Mint Test
      C4. Figaro
      C5. Hardcore Hustle (featuring Wildchild)
      C6. Strange Ways
      D1. Intro
      D2. Fancy Clown (featuring Viktor Vaugh)
      D3. Eye (featuring Stacy Epps)
      D4. Supervillain Theme
      D5. All Caps
      D6. Great Day
      D7. Rhinestone Cowboy

      Latest Pre-Sales

      241 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top