Search Results for:


Kronos Quartet

Kronos Quartet Performs Philip Glass - 2023 Reissue

    Nonesuch releases Kronos Quartet’s acclaimed album Kronos Quartet Performs Philip Glass on vinyl for the first time to coincide with Kronos Quartet: Five Decades, a year-long celebration marking the quartet’s 50th anniversary. Originally released in 1995, the album features David Harrington (violin), John Sherba, (violin), Hank Dutt (viola) and Joan Jeanrenaud (cello) performing Quartet No. 2 (Company) (1983), No. 3 (Mishima) (1985), No. 4 (Buczak) (1990), and No. 5 (1991), the first piece Glass wrote especially for Kronos. Recorded at Skywalker Sound in California, the album was produced by Judith Sherman, Kurt Munkacsi and Philip Glass. The cover art features Francesco Clemente’s painting The Four Corners (1985). At the time of the album’s release, the New York Times said, ‘It contains some of Glass's best music since Koyaanisqatsi. His ear for sumptuous string sonorities is undeniable,’ while the Washington Post called it ‘An ideal combination of composer and performers.’ It was a top 10 hit on Billboard’s Top Classical Albums, and spent 12 weeks on Billboard’s Classical chart.

    In his original liner note, critic Mark Swed wrote, ‘Glass’ string quartets may contain his most intimate music. They are works through which a very public composer, perhaps the most important opera reformer of our age and a longstanding collaborator in large-scale music theater, holds up a mirror to himself and his way of composing. “In an odd way,” Glass explains, “string quartets have always functioned like that for composers. I don’t really know why, but it’s almost impossible to get away from it. It’s the way composers of the past have thought and that’s no less true for me. It’s almost as if we say we’re going to write a string quartet, we take a deep breath, and we wade in to try to write the most serious, significant piece that we can.” Glass says that as he sat down to write String Quartet No. 5, he had discovered that perhaps not taking a serious tone might be the most serious way to deal with it. “I was thinking that I had really gone beyond the need to write a serious string quartet and that I could write a quartet that is about musicality, which in a certain way is the most serious subject.”’

    Glass’ first numbered quartet was written in 1966; however, he did not return to the string quartet medium until 1983, when he provided incidental music for a dramatization of Samuel Beckett’s prose poem, Company. During those 17 years, Glass had formed an ensemble and developed his style in a series of increasingly elaborate pieces for it. String Quartet No. 3 is also adapted to dramatic music, this time from his score to the 1985 Paul Schrader film, Mishima. It was with the music of Mishima that Kronos became associated with Glass, recording the string quartet sections of the soundtrack and subsequently working extensively with the composer on all five of his numbered quartets. Kronos also gave the first concert performances of Company and Mishima. String Quartet No. 4 was composed in remembrance of the artist Brian Buczak, who died of AIDS in 1988.

    As Kronos’ anniversary season continues with further concerts around the world, Nonesuch will reissue Black Angels on vinyl on February 16. First released in 1990, the award-winning album includes George Crumb’s title piece, which inspired David Harrington to found the quartet. Called ‘an unusually elevated and searing Vietnam War protest’ by the New York Times, it sets a dark, powerful tone for this collection, which addresses the political/physical/spiritual consequences of war. Also featured are works by Charles Ives, István Márta, Thomas Tallis, and Dmitri Shostakovich. ‘Stylishly packaged, intelligently programmed, superbly recorded and brilliantly performed,’ proclaimed Gramophone. ‘In short, very much the sort of disc we’ve come to expect from the talented and imaginative Kronos Quartet.’ The Evening Standard included it among its ‘100 Definitive Classical Albums of the 20th Century’.

    Born in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1937, Philip Glass is a graduate of the University of Chicago and the Juilliard School. By 1974, he had created a large collection of music for The Philip Glass Ensemble. The period culminated in the landmark opera, Einstein on the Beach. Since Einstein, Glass’s repertoire has grown to include music for opera, dance, theatre, orchestra, and film. His scores have received Academy Award nominations (including Kundun and The Hours, as well as Notes on a Scandal) and a Golden Globe (The Truman Show). Recent works include his memoir, Words Without Music, his first Piano Sonata, opera Circus Days and Nights, and Symphony No. 14. Glass received the Praemium Imperiale in 2012, the US National Medal of the Arts from President Barack Obama in 2016, and 41st Kennedy Center Honors in 2018.


    Side A
    1. String Quartet No. 5: I
    2. String Quartet No. 5: II
    3. String Quartet No. 5: III
    4. String Quartet No. 5: IV
    5. String Quartet No. 5: V
    Side B
    1. String Quartet No. 4 (Buczak): I
    2. String Quartet No. 4 (Buczak): II
    3. String Quartet No. 4 (Buczak): III
    Side C
    1. String Quartet No. 2 (Company): I
    2. String Quartet No. 2 (Company): II
    3. String Quartet No. 2 (Company): III
    4. String Quartet No. 2 (Company): IV
    Side D
    1. String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima): 1957 – Award Montage
    2. String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima): November 25 – Ichigaya
    3. String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima): 1934 – Grandmother And Kimitake
    4. String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima): 1962 – Body Building
    5. String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima): Blood Oath
    6. String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima): Mishima/Closing

    Clint Mansell & Kronos Quartet

    Requiem For A Dream OST

      To coincide with its 20th anniversary, Clint Mansell's haunting score to Darren Aronofsky's 2000 film, Requiem for a Dream, performed by Kronos Quartet, returns to vinyl. This was Mansell’s second of several collaborations with Aronofsky, following 1997’s π, and features arrangements by David Lang of Bang on a Can.


      Side A
      1. Summer Overture
      2. Party
      3. Coney Island Dreaming
      4. Party
      5. Chocolate Charms
      6. Ghosts Of Things To Come
      7. Dreams
      8. Tense
      9. Dr. Pill
      10. High On Life
      11. Ghosts
      12. Crimin' & Dealin'
      13. Hope Overture
      14. Tense
      15. Bialy & Lox Conga

      Side B
      1. Cleaning Apartment
      2. Ghosts-Falling
      3. Dreams
      4. Arnold
      5. Marion Barfs
      6. Supermarket Sweep
      7. Dreams
      8. Sara Goldfarb Has Left The Building
      9. Bugs Got A Devilish Grin Conga

      Side C
      1. Winter Overture
      2. Southern Hospitality
      3. Fear
      4. Full Tense
      5. The Beginning Of The End
      6. Ghosts Of A Future Lost
      7. Meltdown
      8. Lux Aeterna
      9. Coney Island Low

      Side D
      1. Purple In The Morning, Blue In The Afternoon, Orange In The Evening, Green At Night
      2. 30 Days To Revolutionize Your Life!!! 1-900-976-JUICE

      Just In

      109 NEW ITEMS

      Latest Pre-Sales

      159 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top