Search Results for:


One of Piero Umiliani's most dancey tracks ever is finally available again on 12'' vinyl, both in its original version and in a special edit retouched by Jolly Mare that further increases its dancefloor potential.

Discomania was recorded by Umiliani in 1978 under the moniker Rovi (one of the many aliases he used at the time to avoid saturating the Italian library music market with his name), and sounds wonderfully in tune with the then-emerging cosmic disco scene, brimming as it is with Afro, disco and black music influences. In short, it was expressly conceived as music fit for the discos of the time (or the idea that Umiliani had of them). Moreover, Discomania enjoys a special place in Italian pop culture, having entered the collective imagination of national TV viewers between 1981-1987, when it was used as the closing theme song for RAI television football program 90° minuto.

This single launches RELOVED, a new series from Four Flies in which accomplished DJs and producers rework tunes from Italian golden age soundtracks and library music.

Choosing Piero Umiliani for the first release in the series was almost inevitable. Four Flies has devoted much of its archival music research and restoration efforts to the Florentine composer, contributing to expand his discography with two compilations featuring plenty of previously unreleased music (Studio Umiliani and L'Uomo Elettronico), as well as with various represses of seminal albums, the most recent of which is the library LP Paesaggi.

And who better than Jolly Mare, one of the label's greatest friends and collaborators, to put a contemporary spin on Umiliani's original track? As previously shown in Alessandro Alessandroni's Afro Discoteca Reworked and Giuliano Sorgini's Africa Oscura Reloved, the two records out of which the idea for this series was born, the Apulian DJ and music production wizard is perfectly at ease with reworking Afro-cosmic disco sounds.

Starting this autumn, future RELOVED releases will come in two different formats: special-edition 12-inches focussing on individual composers/themes, and 7-inches co-curated by Little Beat More and each containing a rework (on side A) and its original (on side B). The underlying aim is to give new life to absolute gems from the great but still relatively underrated legacy of Italian film and library music, launching them into the world of international clubbing.


1. Discomania (Jolly Mare Lifting) [feat. Jolly Mare]
2. Discomania (Versione Originale)

By popular demand, Four Flies is proud to present a repress of Azzurro 80's AGIP, this time with a blue cover. The 7" vinyl single, which marked the artist's debut on the label, draws its energy from and is inspired by the Italian library scene of the 80s. More specifically, its retro but innovative sonic landscape combines shiny synthesizers and dynamic jazz-funk with pop and television culture.

As he himself explains, the name "Azzurro 80" is meant to refer to a particular shade of light blue: "a worn-out, faded light blue that feels retro and outmoded", just like the color adjective "azzurro" feels a bit outmoded these days (most people seem to prefer "celeste"). Through his music, he aims to evoke precisely that color, and the nostalgic but comforting combination of sounds that corresponds to it.

Side A features AGIP, titled after Italy's first national oil company (later absorbed by Italian multinational oil and gas company ENI), whose famous logo is a six-legged dog spitting fire. The track transports you to a night-driving scene seen through the eyes of a kid sitting in the back of a family car (i.e., the composer himself back in the 80s), the asphalt roads dimly lit by yellowish street lights surmounted by the fire-spitting canine.

Side B opens with ASTROTENSIONE, a cosmic synth-pop journey through a nebula, almost like the sonic depiction of someone touching a fast traveling asteroid, while TELEFONO GIALLO is a tribute to the late 80s Italian true crime and docudrama TV show of the same name.

Just let the tunes spin on your turntable and follow Azzurro 80 into his reimagined version of the Italian Eighties.


Millie says: If you missed out the first time then you're in luck, sleeved in a blue cover this time around but just as Balearic and breezy as the first (if even more so now) don't sleep on this one.


1. Agip
2. Astrotensione
3. Telefono Giallo

The music of Isaac de Martin, aka IKE, blends jazz and electronic influences into warm, smooth, and often cinematic soundscapes. A certain eclecticism is not surprising considering that the Berlin-based composer, producer and guitarist was born in Italy into a musical family with British roots, studied classical guitar, graduated in jazz and went on to develop his personal style through creative experimentation, live touring and collaborative work with artists from a variety of disciplines and countries.

The Great Escape, his second album under the moniker IKE, is a collection of songs and instrumental pieces that have a common theme: the escape from – or possible antidotes to – our present techno-scientific society. It is an invitation to take courage, look into ourselves, and go back to our inner child, seen as the guardian of a world of freedom, imagination, spontaneity and natural rhythms.

The concept for the album first came to IKE in mid-2019, when he started collaborating with American singer-songwriter and actress Sera Kalo. Not only did Sera's soulful melodies, powerful vocals and heart-felt lyrics beautifully complement IKE's elegant nu jazz compositions, but the songs they penned together unlocked a specific creative vision. IKE went on to explore and capture it over the next year or so, getting on board great musicians from the US, UK, Scandinavia and, of course, Italy.

Recorded in various locations by IKE himself, the album was mixed by Nene Baratto at Big Snuff Studio, Berlin, and mastered by Fabrizio De Carolis at Reference Mastering Studio, Rome. The stunning artwork is by Italian graphic designer Franz Longhi, who, in line with the album's concept, created an analog feel by hand painting on Xeroxed photographs.


1. Eva
2. It's Ok (feat. Sera Kalo)
3. In My Feelings (feat. Sera Kalo)
4. What Then (feat. Sera Kalo)
5. Interlude
6. Ethics Of The Sun
7. Somewhere (feat. Sera Kalo)
8. Small Great Natural Escape
9. Kurbis

7'' Limited Edition | 400 copies

Four Flies Records continues its 7" line-up with anotherde rigueur repechagethat will have your dancefloor jump frantically up and down. Two freaky afro- flavoured tracks, written by Giuliano Sorgini and his partner in musical delices Alessandro Alessandroni. Recorded during a non-specified session which may be traced back to the recording of Sorgini'sUnder Pompelmoand Pawnshop's first 7". The sound and the ideas behind the music are exactly the same, even though there's more rhythmic and percussive emphasis on both tracks. Two little precious gems, unreleased to this day, brought back to light and finally available for DJs and fans all over the world.Afrodelic breaks for your pleasure!


1. Afro Beat (feat. Braen, Raskovich & Giuliano Sorgini) - Braen & Raskovich
2. Afro Flower (feat. Braen, Raskovich & Giuliano Sorgini) - Braen & Raskovich

Latest Pre-Sales


Weekly New Release Mailout Stanley Chow art (art print, t-shirt, tote), Seahawks, Artifi…
Thu 8th - 6:03
Very well deserved! Grab a copy of ‘High Art Lite’ here👇 @invadauk
Wed 7th - 7:09
💫PICCADILLY EXCLUSIVE💫 1997, the year we moved to the Northern Quarter, we asked @stan_chow to design some flyers…
Wed 7th - 6:37
The Brand New Banners that have brightening up the shop this week: @Leftfield @heavenlyrecs remixes 5 & 6 and…
Wed 7th - 6:11
Last chance saloon on these super exclusive, limited edition Italo mash-ups which have been causing quite a stir! B…
Wed 7th - 1:08
E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top