Search Results for:


Legendary activist and Afrobeat originator, Fela Kuti, used his music to lament social injustices and political corruption in his native Nigeria. Fela’s legacy spans decades and genres, touching on jazz, pop, funk, hip-hop, rock, and beyond. While this impact can be felt in Nigeria and the entire world, it also greatly affected Fela’s son Femi and his son Made, both of whom carry his legacy as torchbearers for change. Now Partisan Records release two albums from Femi and Made, packaged together and appropriately titled ‘Legacy +’.

Both albums that make up ‘Legacy +’ are steeped in the tradition of Afrobeat invented by Fela, but each also offers their own unique vision. Femi’s 'Stop The Hate' honors Fela in a traditionally fun, sharply political, and affirming way. Meanwhile Made’s ‘For(e)ward’ is a modern and progressive freedom manifesto, pushing boundaries of the subgenre even further. Made also performs every instrument on his album. Both albums also feature portraits of Femi and Made, done by Brooklyn-based artist Delphine Desane, whose work was recently featured on the cover of Vogue Italia. 


Matt says: Kuti's lineage continues to inspire new generations as well as keeping the hips of dancers thru the ages shaking. Made follows in his grandfather and fathers footsteps; rightly pairing politically-leaning lyrics to the inferno of Afro-beat that the family are famous for.


Femi Kuti - Stop The Hate

1. Pà Pá Pà
2. As We Struggle Everyday
3. Stop The Hate
4. Land Grab
5. Na Bigmanism Spoil Government
6. You Can't Fight Corruption With Corruption
7. Show Of Shame
8. Privatisation
9. Set Your Minds And Souls Free

Made Kuti - For(e)ward

1. Free Your Mind
2. Your Enemy
3. Blood
4. Different Streets
5. Higher You'll Find
6. Hymn
7. Young Lady
8. We Are Strong

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top