Search Results for:


Elijah Minnelli

Perpetual Musket

    Noted mixologist and aspiring travel agent Elijah Minnelli has teamed up with four vocalists from the world of reggae to breathe new life into traditional and folk songs.

    Veteran Jamaican singer-songwriter Little Roy lends his finely honed tone to ‘Vine & Fig Tree’, an explicitly anti-war song originating from the Old Testament, infusing it with warmth and yearning.

    Contemporary dancehall titan Shumba Youth enlivens the old traditional ballad ‘A’ Soulin’’, a song about a Souls’ Day winter ritual where the poor would knock on the doors of farm owners and the rich in a tradition that is believed to have influenced both carolling and trick or treating. Shumba's rhythmic dexterity refreshes the song with a unique energy.

    Peggy Seeger's ‘Lifeboat Mona’ is the next rendition, telling the story of a lifeboat disaster in 1959, where an entire lifeboat crew perished while seeking to save an adrift boat on St. Andrews Bay. Roots reggae heavyweight Earl Sixteen imparts this folk ballad with great emotion and fine storytelling ability. The work of lifeboat crews is ever pertinent, as the vilification of ‘small boat’ seeks to dehumanise the most vulnerable in society. We've even seen attempts to vilify those who are simply doing their duty to save humans in need. The final reinterpretation comes from Bristol's Joe Yorke, who sings ‘The Wind & The Rain’. His sleek, haunting falsetto matches perfectly with this tale of weather and weariness from Shakespeare's Twelfth Night. Joe has carved quite a path for himself in recent years, injecting a new voice into the world of contemporary reggae.

    Each track is paired with a live dub version that shines a light on the instrumental adaptations of these traditional melodies. This record from Elijah Minnelli is a cultural exchange, providing reggae singers with new, and perhaps never considered, source material, while giving bass lines to inherited songs.

    “[This new rendition of] ‘Lifeboat Mona’ is truly excellent. It is a moving mixture of percussion, harmony and vocal(s) that know how to tell a story. The main singer does it JUST RIGHT. All the elements of the song, as I wrote it back in December 1959, are still there. Thanks to all for doing it so well." - Peggy Seeger


    01. Vine And Fig Tree (feat. Little Roy)

    02. Soulcake (feat. Shumba Youth)

    03. Lifeboat Mona (feat. Earl 16)
    04. Wind & The Rain (feat. Joe Yorke)
    05. Ploughshare Dub
    06. Ha'penny Dub
    07. Gallant Dub

    08. Swaggering Dub

    Public Body

    Big Mess

      Formed in Brighton with a clear aim to write the perfect soundtrack to whatever you do whilst procrastinating at your day job, Public Body pick apart the mundanity of daily life and all its annoyances in irresistible fashion.


      1. Break From Life
      2. Way, No Way
      3. Driven By Data
      4. Dysfunction
      5. Crisp Wars
      6. Overcooked
      7. No Constraint
      8. Cathode Ray Tubes
      9. Mr Cats
      10. Age Of Junk

      The Psychotic Monks

      Pink Colour Surgery

        After two fiery albums, ‘Silence Slowly And Madly Shines’ in 2017 (Alter K) and ‘Private Meaning First’ in 2019 (Vicious Circle / Fatcat Records), France’s The Psychotic Monks have never ceased to impress with their maturity and determination to offer a singular stage and discographic presence.

        Although radical, ‘Pink Colour Surgery’’s work is truly accessible to those who immerse themselves in its in depth. One is unceasingly hypnotised, shaken, as their soul flirts dangerously with a furious and oppressive trance. How then the journey becomes addictive, letting yourself slide from one track to another, sometimes struck, sometimes set ablaze with an unexpected epiphany, because its light irradiates us. Live their music is an intimate, sensory experience, the affects of which continue to be felt for a long time afterwards.

        Third album ‘Pink Colour Surgery’, recorded and produced by Daniel Fox of Gilla Band is composed in part by improvisations, and is presented as an act of resistance to the ambient violence. Disconcerting at first sight, this new opus operates in the dark, a surgery of ethics which is fleshed out of pink for a staggering metamorphosis. Its very structure takes the listener on an initiatory trip full of secret corners, provided they are prepared to dive into it, to plunge into it.

        ‘Pink Colour Surgery’ is like a hidden room in a house that we have never entered before, and the possibility of feeling good there is not excluded.


        Side A
        Gamble And Dangle
        Side B
        (Bird's Part)
        Side C
        Side D
        All That Fall
        (traP S'driB)

        Latest Pre-Sales

        167 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top