Search Results for:


Various Artists

Curses Presents: Next Wave Acid Punx: DEUX

    Next Wave Acid Punx DEUX is the second compilation for Eskimo Recordings compiled and curated by Berlin-based Musician and DJ Luca Venezia, aka Curses, to explore the darker side of club music. Spread across 3CDs and three 2LPs Next Wave Acid Punx DEUX features a mammoth 49 tracks that join the dots between early industrial pioneers Throbbing Gristle, EBM legends like Nitzer Ebb and the post-punk experiments of people like Malcolm McLaren and Big Audio Dynamite with some of the most exciting artists around today, such as Boy Harsher, Nuovo Testamento and Years of Denial.

    Where the first Next Wave Acid Punx compilation was a personal journey for Luca, a lockdown inspired exploration of his record collection to find the thread that ran through the music that had soundtracked much of his life, DEUX is a celebration of that music let loose on the world, the thrill of music performed live, the smoke and strobe filled clubs you'll hear it in and the artists you'll find on those stages.

    "After our enforced break, getting back out there and playing live again really brought home to me so much of what I love about the scene I'm in but also just how important live music has been and is to club culture over the years," Luca explains. "Too often we think of club nights and live gigs as these separate things, but throughout the years it's where the two meet, the friction that can cause, that you'll find the most vibrant scenes."

    "There's an energy, an atmosphere that you get with live music, an unpredictability where at any moment something can go wrong or even better right in a way you never expect. I think about a live set we played at a Lebanese festival where our MPC drum machine froze up because of all the dust and sand trapped in the pads. We had to improvise half our set, jamming bass and guitar and pedal FX and vocals, embracing this surreal environment and experience, something that could only happen in the moment."

    "With Next Wave Acid Punx DEUX I wanted to celebrate those bands and artists, past and present who, to me, represent that spirit. Both full live bands and makeshift electronic duos alike, the kind of acts that you might have found wedged between DJs back in the day at The Hacienda in the 80s, Trash in the 00s or today at nights like Berlin’s MILK ME, EXBTN in Paris, Night Terrors + SC&P in London, New York City’s Synthicide or Ukraine’s Worn Pop."

    "So I've put this compilation together much like my favourite kind of night, going out to see some bands play, hitting up a club where live music and DJs blur together, before the serious business of the after party. On Chapter 1 you'll find bands like Vicious Pink, DAF and Cabaret Voltaire, some of these acts are more obscure than others, some flirted with pop and even the charts but they were all embracing new ways of working in the late 70s and 80s that both set them apart and set the scene for much of what we think of as club music."

    "Chapter 2 moves the night on, and this is the sound of the clubs I love to both play and just hang out in these days, clubs where the people involved put a lot more time into digging through the crates than working on their Instagram Reels. These are places where you're as likely to find a band on stage as you are a DJ, where 80's German electro pop by a band like Boytronic seamlessly flows into tracks like Silent Servant’s Non Fiction. Timeless music that can be romantic, dreamlike and ethereal one moment, then veer into dark, industrial sounds the next."

    "Then finally we get to that part of the night where you probably should go home but if it's too late for good decisions there's still time for good music. Things are a bit wilder here, the drums a bit harder, the synths are more aggressive, tracks like The Hacker's Monopoly, Zanias' Tryptamine Palace or EVA's Industrial Hope that don't let up, don't let you go, just subjugate you to the beat and keep you there till you stumble out blinking into a new day." 


    Barry says: Another absolute stormer of a comp from the Eskimo crew. this time it's split into three, and it's REALLY hard to say which i'd go for given the chance. Throbbing Gristle, Cab Voltaire, DAF, The KVB and literally tens more. A perfectly curated selection of dark dancefloor grit and soaring synthy groove.


    Chapter 1:
    A1. Throbbing Gristle - Distant Dreams, Pt. 2
    A2. Mary Möör - Pretty Day
    A3. Sad Lovers & Giants - Things We Never Did
    A4. Malcolm McLaren - Madam Butterfly (Un Bel Di Vedremo)
    B1. Big Audio Dynamite - The Big V
    B2. Cabaret Voltaire - Blue Heat
    B3. Nitzer Ebb - Hearts And Minds (Mix Hypersonic)
    B4. Clan Of Xymox - Obsession
    C1. In Sotto Voce - In Sotto Voce
    C2. Psyche - Prisoner To Desire (Single Mix)
    C3. Propaganda - The Murder Of Love
    C4. DAF - Brothers (Gabi Mix)
    D1. Book Of Love - Modigliani (Lost In Your Eyes) (I Dream Of Jeanne Mix)
    D2. Vicious Pink - Cccan’t You See
    D3. Absolute Body Control - Total Control

    Chapter 2:
    A1. Boytronic - Voloczny
    A2. The KVB - Still Warm (2023 Version)
    A3. Cardinal & Nun - Freak And Weak
    A4. Jennifer Touch - Altars
    A5. Matrixxman - Assembly Line
    B1. Silver Tears - Always Shine (Wait For The Rain)
    B2. Essaie Pas - Retox
    B3. Aili X Transistorcake - Dansu
    B4. Years Of Denial - It Sucks
    C1. Dina Summer - Darkness
    C2. Patriarchy - Suffer
    C3. Maelstrom & Louisahhh - Hate Machine
    C4. Dame Area - Buon Cittadino
    C5. Kris Baha - Into The Dark
    D1. Desire - Love Races On
    D2. Blind Delon Feat. I Hate Models - Flashback
    D3. Poison Point - Altered Beats
    D4. Roe Deers - Muscles

    Chapter 3:
    A1. Boy Harsher - Machina (feat. Mariana Saldaña) (Dark Remix)
    A2. Silent Servant - Non Fiction
    A3. J.W.B. Hits The Beat - Body On Body (Curses Revamp)
    A4. Hungry Boys - Toi
    B1. Nuovo Testamento - Heartbeat (Curses Remix - Edit)
    B2. Autumns - Repeat Prescription
    B3. Buzz Kull - A Place (That’s Meant To Be)
    B4. Soft Crash - Dolce Morte
    C1. Dame Bonnet & Mufti - Pleasure Dreams
    C2. Ultra Sunn - Night Is Mine
    C3. Neu-Romancer - Burning Eyes
    C4. EVA - Industrial Hope
    D1. Andi Vs Randolph & Mortimer - Formidable Truths
    D2. Zanias - Tryptamine Palace
    D3. The Hacker - Monopoly
    D4. Paradox Obscur - Evo-Devo

    Various Artists

    Curses Presents : Next Wave Acid Punx: DEUX - DJ SAMPLER

      'Curses presents... Next Wave Acid Punx DEUX' is happening! Ahead of the full release in the fall we are excited to bring you this dj sampler as a taster. On this 12" you'll find two unreleased (!) Curses reworks of Nuovo Testamento and J.W.B. Hits The Beat originals that have been absolute highlights in his DJ sets lately, and two tracks by Mary Möör and Cabaret Voltaire that are taken from Curses' classics selection.

      'Next Wave Acid Punx DEUX' is a return to the dark romantic of the past, present and future. An undying passion for all things post-punk/wave/body music and beyond.


      A1. Nuovo Testamento - Heartbeat (Curses Remix) *
      A2. Mary Möör - Pretty Day *
      B1. J.W.B. Hits The Beat - Body On Body (Curses Revamp)
      B2. Cabaret Voltaire - Blue Heat (12" Mix)

      * Exclusive To This Format

      Latest Pre-Sales

      142 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top