Search Results for:


Robert Levon Been

Original Songs From The Card Counter

    Composer, producer, multi-instrumentalist and co-founder of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Robert Levon Been, announces his forthcoming album, ‘Original Songs From The Card Counter’. Levon Been composed several original songs as well as a majority of the score for writer and director Paul Schrader’s new film, ‘The Card Counter’, starring Oscar Isaac, Tiffany Haddish, Tye Sheridan, Willem Dafoe and executive produced by Martin Scorsese. “Ironically this entire project began by working the last scene of the film first,” says Levon Been. “Paul had reached out asking if I would write an original song for a very intimate final scene he had been struggling with. As tempting as the concept was, I must admit that kind of composing is also my biggest fear - to write directly to picture with such precision that it takes over the narrative in a substantial way, which I knew Paul never shies away from. It also turned me into a nervous wreck because I know just how easy it is to quickly ruin a movie with merely a single lyric at the wrong time. Thankfully for ‘Mercy Of Man’, I had S.G. Goodman there in NY singing with me to help experiment with how to create a fairly unconventional duet of sorts that is intended to evoke the emotions of the two characters in that final scene.”
    ‘The Card Counter’ marks the fifth collaboration between Schrader and Scorsese, who previously worked together on ‘Taxi Driver’, ‘Raging Bull’, ‘The Last Temptation of Christ’ and ‘Bringing Out the Dead’. Robert Levon Been is a producer, composer, singer songwriter and founding member of the band, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, with whom he has released eight albums and toured the world with since 2001. With a dedicated following across Europe, the US, Australia and Asia, their record ‘Howl’ has ranked many top album lists. In 2013, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club were featured in Dave Grohl’s Grammy-winning documentary, ‘Sound City’. 2021 marks the 20th anniversary of the release of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club’s self-titled first album. Robert is currently producing and writing for multiple projects, dividing his time between Los Angeles and Vienna. 


    1. Rapture
    2. Murder Hum
    3. Mercy Rev
    4. Arise Sun
    5. S.E.R.E.
    6. Adore
    7. Casino Floor 1 (Beta
    8. Testing)
    9. Casino Floor 2 (Stable)
    10. Smoke Ring
    11. Erutpar
    12. Determined Events
    13. OPM
    14. Mercy Of Man (featuring S.G. Goodman)

    Latest Pre-Sales

    137 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top