Search Results for:


The Creation

Creation Theory

    Alan McGee was such a big fan of The Creation that he named his record label after the band, and named his own band after one of their songs – Biff Bang Pow. The Creation was formed in 1966 from beat combo The Mark Four, and was quickly signed to a production deal with Shel Talmy, The Who’s producer.

    The first release was the urgent “Making Time”, which featured guitarist Eddie Phillips playing his guitar with a violin bow, two years before Jimmy Page started doing so. Whilst very popular in Germany, UK success largely eluded the band, and after a number of non-charting singles and line-up changes (including Ron Wood), the band broke up in 1968 without ever having released an album.

    Phillips and lead vocalist Kenny Pickett recorded an album in 1987 that remained unreleased until 2004, and in 1995, following reunion concerts at Harlesden’s Mean Fiddler, Alan McGee and Joe Foster managed to persuade the original line-up to record a new album, for release on Creation Records.

    Compiled with the assistance of Eddie Phillips himself, this limited edition deluxe media book presents a chronological history of the band. The four CDs include all eight single sides by The Mark Four (and three live reunion recordings from 1985), all of The Creation’s legendary recordings for Shel Talmy, in both mono and brand new stereo mixes, the 1987 album and the Creation Records album, and some solo recordings by Eddie from 1990 and 2011.

    The DVD features a lengthy new interview with Eddie, filmed in October 2016, five songs from The Creation’s two live appearances on the legendary German 60s TV show “Beat Beat Beat” (from the original tapes, three songs appear on DVD for the first time), and 21 songs from the band’s two reunion concerts at the Mean Fiddler in the 90s.

    The Beat

    Wha'ppen - Deluxe 2CD + DVD Edition

    Edsel Records is proud to announce its reissue programme of all three of The Beat’s albums, each in Deluxe 2 CD + DVD digipaks, featuring the original albums along with all the non-album A- and B-sides, the many 12” mixes and live tracks, as well as the best of their BBC radio sessions. The DVDs feature the singles promo videos, Top Of The Pops performances and bonus appearances from ITV shows and documentaries.

    Second album “Wha’ppen” (1980, # 3) features the hits “Too Nice To Talk To”, “Doors Of Your Heart”, “All Out To Get You”, “Drowning”, and “Hit It” as well as 14 bonus tracks, including four previously unreleased BBC radio sessions. The DVD features five promo videos, four TOTP appearances, and live performances and interviews from the “World In Action” documentary “A Statistic, A Reminder”.

    The booklet features an individual note especially written by Rhoda Dakar of The Bodysnatchers, along with the lyrics and photos, memorabilia and ephemera from the band’s own collection.

    Martin Carthy With Dave Swarbrick


    Two giants of the English folk scene with a canny selection of tracks from their early years together. Carthy has never been better than on "Lucy Wan", "Davy Lowston" and the equally haunting "Long Lankin" all songs dripping in blood and death. The understanding between the two players is there for all to see and the intervening years has simply enhanced these tracks.

    Latest Pre-Sales

    203 NEW ITEMS

    Well deserved and you grab a copy here >
    Tue 19th - 1:05
    Ha. Well, if that’s the case it can only be a good thing, right?! Searching for the perfect beat.
    Tue 19th - 10:23
    If you want to know what’s in our End of Year Chart tune in and come down on Wednesday 27th November. More info her…
    Mon 18th - 8:38
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top