Search Results for:


Cian Ciaran

Outside In

    "Here he comes. The dark horse. The bloke at the back. The odd one. Cian Ciaran is a founder member of that democratic state of music known as Super Furry Animals.

    He’s got this album, right. It’s a real beauty, songs of love and longing; delicate, fragile and understated. People who know about these kind of things have been whispering about it ever since Cian started messing about in the studio. This is a bit special, they said.

    Just so you know, Cian is the baby of the SFA bunch. He has a performing history in music stretching back to his early teens. His first love was acid house and he didn’t hear anything by Neil Young until he was 21 years old.

    In our desire to understand one of the most intriguing groups of their time, we gave the Super Furries name tags and job descriptions, praying they wouldn’t move around too much to confuse us.

    That made Cian the one who sat at a keyboard and added vocal harmonies when they played live. On occasion, he released techno tracks of his own making. That was him sorted.

    So it’s no wonder this debut album comes as a surprise, even to those who’ve known Cian for donkeys. It was written entirely on the piano and features contributions from fellow-Furries Dafydd Ieuan and Guto Pryce, as well as regular collaborators Osian and Mei Gwynedd (from Sibrydion) Outside In is an album that asks: ‘What’s it all about, then?’ and is smart enough not to try to answer the question in line twelve of track eight.
    And just in case you’re looking for musical signposts, Cian has spent the past year or so listening to hip-hop, r’n’b, experimental electronica and bits of doo-wop. The album sounds nothing like any of it." - Iestyn George.


    1) You & Me
    2) 'Till I Die
    3) Love Thee Dearest
    4) 3rd Time Lucky
    5) Martina Franca
    6) 1st Time
    7) Rollercoaster Ride
    8) Red Or Green?
    9) Here And Now
    10) So Long
    11) Fool
    12) What Will Be
    13) Upside Downers

    Wayne Robbins & The Hellsayers

    All You Need To Sleep

    It is now three years since Dell’Orso heard rough mixes of these album tracks when Wayne Robbins & The Hellsayers visited the U.K to tour with their friends, Band Of Horses. At that point The Hellsayers were over from their home town Asheville, North Carolina to promote their debut album "The Lonesome Sea", a country-cosmic rock jewel Dell’Orso discovered via a Beachwood Sparks fan site.

    Picking up from where their debut left off, Wayne describes "All You Need" as 'the night album, about the wee small hours'. Far heavier than its predecessor, the album has already been described as 'an atmospheric blend of Buffalo Springfield harmonies and Sonic Youth guitar blasts', lap steel guitar jostling with piles of Yo La Tengo distortion.

    Like "The Lonesome Sea" this album was recorded in a school bus repair shop (though bizarrely not the same one) with no heating in the dead of winter. The albums gestation was hampered by the familiar tale of lack of resources, but also a terrier determination to mix such a dense record littered with dozens of vocal tracks and guitar overdubs perfectly.

    Eventually the band mixed the album with Mitch Easter particularly known for his work on early REM records, with the exception of the crestfallen "Rowboat Of Stone" which Cian Ciaran from Super Furry Animals has put his magic to (Cian having recently mixed albums by Sibrydion and El Goodo for Dell’Orso).

    Appropriately since this album was finished The Hellsayers have recently recorded an EP with Brent Rademaker from Beachwood Sparks which will appear later in the year.

    'Genuinely inspired merging of pre-electric and post psychedelic Americana. Neil Young and Giant Sand provide pointers, but Wayne & co chart a spry, original course' - Uncut Magazine.


    Darryl says: Sweet and summery indie-Americana infused with occasional Sonic Youth-esque distortion blasts. Recommended.


    1. C#7
    2. I Saw An Angel
    3. All Roads Lead To Helen
    4. The Island Of Malta
    5. The Devil Has A Map
    6. Rowboat Of Stone
    7. The Lonesome

    Latest Pre-Sales

    152 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top