Search Results for:


Dames Brown Presented By Amp Fiddler

Introducing Dames Brown

Epitomising the very best of their hometown’s unparalleled musical heritage, Dames Brown are fully-fledged members of the extended Defected family following the release of slick, funk-filled record ‘What Would You Do?’ and features on a number of the label’s vocal house hits. The Detroit trio continuously impress with their exquisite releases, striking lyricism and a hefty dose of house authenticity across their outputs. Now Athena Johnson, Teresa Marbury and LaRae Starr step out to properly introduce themselves to the wax lovers, with Detroit musical icon Amp Fiddler on production duties. Releasing ‘Introducing Dames Brown’ on 7”, this package also includes the Instrumental, as Detroit’s finest deliver a taste of what’s to come on their forthcoming album, capturing funk, house and soul from across the spectrum.


Matt says: Second single from the next superstars of disco-funk. This one ACTUALLY sounds like the JBs! With Amp Fiddler on production, it's nice to see Detroit soul kickin' and back on the map with serious intention.


A. Introducing Dames Brown
B. Introducing Dames Brown (Instrumental)

Spiller Featuring Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Groovejet (If This Ain't Love)

Every once in a while, a record comes along which resonates in a special way, stands the test of time, and brings the same reaction to the dancefloor now as it did all those years ago. “Groovejet (If This Ain’t Love)” is one of those records, a classic in every sense of the word. Originally released in 2000, a big time for funky house and country-wide decadence in general. File next too: “Salsoul Nugget”, “So Much Love To Give”, “Cassius 1999”, “Red Alert” etc.

This unique two vinyl pack comes in full colour gatefold sleeve with augmented reality cover that will come to life once you scan the mask image on your phone accompanied by a four page 12” insert written by Spiller detailing the full story of “Groovejet”; from original production, early reactions, chart success and new 2021/22 remixes.

The releases features the original versions plus new mixes Purple Disco Machine & Lorenz Rhode, Riva Star, Breakbot & Irfane and Harvey Sutherland. Exclusive to the vinyl are Riva Starr’s Skylight Mix and the Harvey Sutherland Instrumental version.


A1. Groovejet (If This Ain't Love) (Purple Disco Machine & Lorenz Rhode Remix)
A2. Groovejet (If This Ain't Love) (Breakbot & Irfane Remix)
B1. Groovejet
B2. Groovejet (If This Ain't Love) (Vocal Mix)
C1. Groovejet (If This Ain't Love) (Riva Starr Disco Odyssey Mix)
C2. Groovejet (If This Ain't Love) (Riva Starr Skylight Mix)
D1. Groovejet (If This Ain't Love) (Harvey Sutherland Remix)
D2. Groovejet (If This Ain't Love) (Harvey Sutherland Instrumental)

Dames Brown

What Would You Do? - Inc. Folamour

Epitomizing the very best of their hometown’s unparalleled musical heritage, Detroit’s Dames Brown are the vocal trio you may not yet know by name but are sure to know by voice. Lending their exquisite range to a number of modern house essentials, including Sophie Lloyd’s ‘Calling Out’, The Vision featuring Andreya Triana ‘Heaven’ and David Penn’s ‘Nobody’ in recent years, Athena Johnson, Teresa Marbury and LaRae Starr now release ‘What Would You Do?’ on a limited 7” package. Produced by long-time collaborator of the group and fellow Motor City native Amp Fiddler and Mahogani Music regular Andrés, this slick, funk-filled and typically soulful vinyl release features the exceptional original version as well as Lyon house superstar Folamour’s remix, with his signature groove a perfect match for the Dames mesmerizing vocal. Don’t sleep!


Matt says: Massive massive massive! Andres and Amp Fiddler on production! Bumps hard, kicks like a mule. With a bassline that'll cause ceilings to collapse.


A. What Would You Do?
B. What Would You Do? (Folamour Remix)

Many credit New Jersey's Todd Edwards and pivotal in forging the early sound of UKG. His shoulder-dropped, shuffled house beats and accentuated and pitched up vocal cuts fast became adopted and exaggerated by London and Birmingham's embryonic 2step producers as the cross pollination of American dance music and UK attitude bloomed in the late 90s and early millennium. Since then the producer has enjoyed plenty of admiration on this side of the pond, with some legendary DJ performances much later on in his career; and has gone onto collaborate with Daft Punk not to mention accumulating countless hordes of young garage and house heads who regard him with an almost mystic degree of reverence.

Here Defected present a collection of Todd's best remixes and productions, housed on separate discs or in boosted 2xCD format. Includes his remixes of Indo, Moloko, St Germain, Robin S and more plus his own releases "Saved My Life", "Shut The Door", "Main Vibe" and the two collaborative productions with Daft Punk: "Face to Face" and "Fragments of Time".

A producer whose style and sound are instantly recognizable; his inspiration across genre camps and club cultures is far reaching and widely acknowledged. A truly unique enigma with a big character to back it up, it's a beauty to have all these amazing Todd Edwards tracks in one complete package. Most recommended. 


Matt says: A household name for anyone with even a fleeting interest in dance music culture yet a man whose influence is often felt before his face known. One of UKG's biological parents guides us through some of his most iconic moments.


A1. St Germain - Alabama Blues (Todd Edwards Dub Mix)
A2. Indo - R U Sleeping (Todd Edwards Mix)
B1. Sound Of One - As I Am (Todd Edwards Mix / Version)
B2. Kim English – Tomorrow (Todd Edwards Dub)

A1. Daft Punk - Face To Face
A2. Todd Edwards – Shut The Door
B1. Todd Edwards – Push The Love
B2. Todd Edwards – The Dream


01. Sound Of One - As I Am (Todd Edwards Mix)
02. Indo - R U Sleeping (Todd Edwards Mix)
03. St Germain - Alabama Blues (Todd Edwards Dub Mix)
04. MJ Cole - Crazy Love (Todd’s Save Your Cries Dub)
05. Moloko - Pure Pleasure Seeker (Todd Edwards Pleasure For Life UK Vocal)
06. Veda Simpson - Ooh Baby (Todd Edwards Dub)
07. Wretch 32 Featuring Etta Bond - Forgiveness (Todd Edwards Remix)
08. Wildchild - Jump To My Beat (Todd Edwards Jump Remix)
09. Beloved - 1000 Years From Today (Todd Edwards Dub)
10. Zoot Woman - Taken It All (Todd Edwards Soul Line Remix)
11 Robin S - Show Me Love (Todd Edwards Remix)

01. Daft Punk - Face To Face
02. Todd Edwards – Saved My Life
03. Todd Edwards – Shut The Door
04. Todd Edwards – Never Far From You
05. Todd Edwards – God Will Be There
06. Todd Edwards – Main Vibe
07. Todd Edwards – Winter Behaviour
08. Daft Punk Featuring Todd Edwards - Fragments Of Time
09. Todd Edwards – So Real
10. Todd Edwards – Perfect Love
11. Todd Edwards – Dancing For Heaven

Latest Pre-Sales


Looking great John 👌Thanks for ordering and sharing 🙏 @DeadOceans @whereisMUNA
Fri 24th - 12:45
Yes, physical copies available July 1. Get your pre-orders in here 👇 @TheVintageCrop
Fri 24th - 12:12
#newmusicfriday has come round once again 🙌 Here’s a small selection of some of the great records out today. Labe…
Fri 24th - 12:07
E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top