Search Results for:


Jeff Tweedy

Love Is The King

    It was inside Jeff Tweedy’s second home, The Loft in Chicago, that Love Is The King was recorded in April of 2020. Surrounded by an assemblage of treasured instruments and loved ones in a world that felt more and more alien by the day.

    Out on dBpm Records, Love Is The King, a “beautifully honest ode to love and hope,” is the follow-up to 2018’s WARM and 2019’s WARMER, and comes on the heels of Tweedy’s second book, How To Write One Song, out October 13th via Penguin Random House's Dutton. “At the beginning of the lockdown I started writing country songs to console myself. Folk and country type forms being the shapes that come most easily to me in a comforting way. 'Guess Again' is a good example of the success I was having at pushing the world away, counting my blessings — taking stock in my good fortune to have love in my life,” comments Tweedy. “A few weeks later things began to sound like 'Love Is The King' — a little more frayed around the edges with a lot more fear creeping in. Still hopeful but definitely discovering the limits of my own ability to self soothe." –Jeff Tweedy.


    Barry says: Tweedy's newest collection of alt-country musings deserves to be right at the top of the list of his greatest achievements with every strum of guitar, and every syrupy vowel it eases gently into classic Tweedy Territory. Brilliantly written and beautifully reminiscent. A touching, warm triumph.


    1. Love Is The King
    2. Opaline
    3. A Robin Or A Wren
    4. Gwendolyn
    5. Bad Day Lately
    6. Even I Can See
    7. Natural Disaster
    8. Save It For Me
    9. Guess Again
    10. Troubled
    11. Half-Asleep

    'Ode To Joy',  Wilco's eleventh studio album is their best since 2004's 'A Ghost Is Born'.
    Recorded at their Chicago studio, it finds main man Jeff Tweedy at his most empathetic, ruminating on the state of the union, life, love and loss in a way that only he can.
    It's an album that both consoles and inspires in equal measure and is already a shop favourite. 
    We love it, we think you will too.


    Barry says: Wilco have been a driving force behind the US alternative scene since the early 90's and 'Ode To Joy' just goes to show why their appeal is so enduring. Tweedy's vocals have matured slightly, lending a mild gruffness to his perfectly pitched vocal range, a maturity to their writing and a turn towards the more indie-pop side rather than their more country-tinged counterparts. Either way, they're a hoot, and this might well be their best work for a couple decades.


    Side A
    1. Bright Leaves 
    2. Before Us 
    3. One And A Half Stars
    4. Quiet Amplifier 
    5. Everyone Hides

    Side B
    1. White Wooden Cross 
    2. Citizens 
    3. We Were Lucky
    4. Love Is Everywhere (Beware) 
    5. Hold Me Anyway 
    6. An Empty Corner

    Jeff Tweedy releases, WARM, a solo album of all new material via dBpm Records. WARM was produced and recorded entirely by Jeff at Chicago’s now legendary studio, The Loft (with help from some of his usual collaborators – Spencer Tweedy, Glenn Kotche and Tom Schick). WARM follows the acoustic retrospective release, Together at Last (2017), and Wilco’s 2016 album, Schmilco. 

    Latest Pre-Sales

    193 NEW ITEMS

    The @Elbow @ofclmusicboxco are looking great 🙌 We have have some available exclusively instore on Thursday 29th Sep…
    Tue 27th - 2:04
    RT @Elbow: elbow are donating their proceeds to help facilitate ongoing therapy for good friend Mat Andrew, former owner of Vibes Records,…
    Mon 26th - 11:24
    💪 Looking forward to getting these in this week. Plus, it’s a good cause too.
    Mon 26th - 11:24
    RT @ofclmusicboxco: We are very excited to release @Elbow's ‘What Am I Without You’ as a Music Box! ★ Out Fri 30th Sept! ★ Proceeds will he…
    Mon 26th - 11:14
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top