Search Results for:


The Awkward Silences

The Awkward Silences

    Inclusive outsider pop mavericks and Antifolk legends The Awkward Silences return with their eponymous 4th album and their first release in 5 years. Off-kilter Daniel Johnston-esque pop songs inspired by Ian Dury and Iggy Pop. Produced by Jon Clayton (The Monochrome Set, Subway Sect), The Awkward Silences is their catchiest, most unusual and most personal work to date. Led by songwriter, author and disability campaigner Paul Hawkins, The Awkward Silences combine cleverly off-kilter Daniel Johnston-esque pop songs with energetic and inspired live performances pitched somewhere between Ian Dury, Iggy Pop and the Flaming Lips. Having cut their teeth at the infamous Blang nights at the 12 Bar Club back in the late 00’s, The Awkward Silences built up a dedicated following amongst the UK Antifolk Scene before taking on the mainstream with regular BBC Radio1 & 6Music airplay, festival slots up and down the country, and a celebrity following including the likes of Mark Radcliffe, Huw Stephens and Graham Coxon*. Owing to a combination of mental health issues, bereavements, disability activism and other real life complications, the band retreated from the public eye following the release of 2015’s Outsider Pop.

    2018 saw the bands first foray back into the spotlight with a triumphant set at Kendal Calling, spurring them back into the studio to record the new album. The Awkward Silences will also feature on ‘Scratchcard’, Blang Records forthcoming 15 year anniversary compilation (due October 2020). More recently, Hawkins has been in the music press for his work with disability charity Attitude Is Everything and their new initiative Beyond The Music, aimed at improving employment opportunities for disabled people in the music industry. As a disabled musician himself, Hawkins is passionate about improving access for deaf and disabled performers, gig-goers and professionals. All Awkward Silences self-promoted gigs have captioned lyrics for anyone who can't hear them. Paul is very happy to hear from disabled musicians who'd like some advice or a chat. * Graham Coxon was once mistaken for Chris from the band, and ended up getting punched as a result. We think he is a fan. Quotes - ‘Laden with pure charisma’ NME // ‘An ace antifolk superstar’ Time Out // ‘I haven’t been able to get Paul Hawkins out of my head for the last 4 days’ Huw Stephens 


    1 Quantum Physics
    2 Getting Ready For My Life To Begin
    3 There’s Nothing More Obnoxious Than A Self-Made Man
    4 Everybody Loves Organised Fun
    5 Other People Die
    6 Count Each Mistake
    7 The Medical Model
    8 Everything Will Probably Be Fine
    9 Pretending To Be Fine
    10 The New World

    Brix & The Extricated release their highly anticipated debut album Part 2 on 22nd September following on from the early summer release of debut single Damned For Eternity. "Part 2 is a terrific debut album! While having elements of vintage Fall, Brix & The Extricated also bring the raw power of the Stooges, the pop sensibility of prime Blondie, walls of big glam rock guitars and dollops of psychedelia." Dave Simpson (Guardian). Formed by the visionary Brix Smith Start (vocals / guitar) and legendary bass player Stephen Hanley, Brix & The Extricated also features Paul Hanley on drums, which reignites the Hanley Brother powerhouse rhythm section. The addition of Steve Trafford on guitar has brought together these influential, former members of The Fall. Completing the line-up is hugely talented Irish guitarist Jason Brown. Increasing pressure from old and new fans alike to record fresh material spurred Brix & The Extricated to head into the studio, where they laid down 10 tracks. As anyone who has read Brix’s book ‘The Rise, The Fall & The Rise’ will know, Brix is a warrior woman one moment, and the next she’s stripping off her armour and laying bare her open wounds for all to see – and this is precisely what she’s done on the resulting album. Brix vehemently spits out her lyrics over savage sliding power chords over the distinctive Hanley brothers rhythm section. 


    Barry says: Channelling the delicate / loud balance of US grunge, with the perfect songwriting craft of a bloody great rock song, Brix & co. manage to take you on a thrilling but nuanced trip through these established sounds, and a whole lot more. Great stuff.

    Hot on the heels of their Dec 2008 top 10 indie chart hit ("God With An Ipod") comes the long anticipated debut album from Milk Kan, an earthy fusion of bluegrass, old-skool hip-hop and late 70s punk with respectful nods to the Ramones, Beastie Boys and Woody Guthrie storytelling. Milk Kan began as a two piece back at the end of 2003; as Scrappy Hood and Jimmy Blade picked up their mothers' guitars and busked to the capital's trains, tubes, and very-late night buses. Following the release of their bedroom-recorded debut in 2004 they swapped public transport busking for the Lower East Side of Manhattan; gigging at local open mike haunts before returning to London and signing a single deal with PIAS Records. Late 2007 saw MK's signing to emerging East London independent Blang – with their long-awaited debut album finally recorded in 2008 after two hard years on the road.

    Milk Kan

    I'm A Nobody

    Milk Kan's latest release "I'm a Nobody" is an uplifting cheer for the ordinary and a shout of encouragement for the unknowns. This energetic old-skool punk-guitar anthem to forget the 'wannabees' and champion the 'neverbees' comes hot on the heels of their Dec 2008 top 10 Indie Chart hit ("God With An Ipod") and second release from their debut self titled album (out 9th March).

    Latest Pre-Sales

    154 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top