Search Results for:


Black Grape

It's Great When You're Straight...Yeah - 2024 Reissue

    It's Great When You're Straight... Yeah contains 10 catchy songs with influences from indie-pop, alternative, funk, disco, with rough guitar, rapping all glued together and produced by American Danny Saber. Upon release in 1993, the debut album immediately charted #1 in the UK Albums chart and was certified Platinum. It's Great When You're Straight... Yeah includes the UK Top 2- singles "Reverend Black Grape", "In the Name of The Father" and "Kelly's Heroes".

    Black Grape was founded by former members of The Happy Mondays, Shaun Ryder and Bez (a.k.a. Mark Berry). New band members included rappers Paul "Kermit" Leveridge, Carl "Psycho" McCarthy, drummer Ged Lynch (all three from the first wave of UK hip-hop, and influential Hulme, Manchester act Ruthless Rap Assassins), guitarist Paul Wagstaff (from the Paris Angels), and Oli "Dirtycash" Dillon on ocarina.


    Side A
    1. Reverend Black Grape
    2. In The Name Of The Father
    3. Tramazi Parti
    4. Kelly's Heroes
    5. Yeah Yeah Brother

    Side B
    1. A Big Day In The North
    2. Shake Well Before Opening
    3. Submarine
    4. Shake Your Money
    5. Little Bob

    Black Grape

    Orange Head

      Black Grape could only have been made in Manchester. The swagger, fun and cryptic humour seem hewn from a city historian AJP Taylor once described as offering an archetypally different way of English urban life to London. Both Shaun Ryder and Paul Leveridge, known as Kermit, came from edgy-but-cool parts of the city. In Shaun’s case Salford, with Kermit originating from Moss Side. For those unfamiliar, ‘the Moss’ lay in the shadow of Manchester City’s old stadium at Maine Road, and was one of the first multi-ethnic areas in Manchester.

      Black Grape are widely regarded as one of the most innovative and iconic bands of the last twenty five years. Black Grape have had 4 Top 10 singles and their debut album It’s Great When You’re Straight… Yeah shot straight to No.1 in the UK charts upon its release in 1995 and went Platinum. Follow up album Stupid Stupid Stupid went Gold in 1997.

      Ryder has grown from a wild young tearaway into a British National Treasure. Black Grape always were a grimily cosmic musical jigsaw, melding rock, hip-hop, acid house, psychedelic pop and reggae with Ryder’s gutter poetry, delivered in his inimitable shyster’s bark.


      Barry says: I honestly didn't think we'd be here in 2023 getting a brand new Black Grape record, but here we are listening to their uniquely energetic melting pot of electro, disco and psychedelic groove. A brilliantly produced, psychedelic stew that really wouldn't work for anyone but Shaun and Kermit, and gets every head in the room nodding.


      1. Dirt
      2. Pimp Wars
      3. Button Eyes
      4. Quincy
      5. In The Ground
      6. Loser
      7. Milk
      8. Panda
      9. Self Harm
      10. Sex On The Beach

      Bonus Tracklist (on Deluxe CDX & Coloured LPC2)
      1. Part Of Everything
      2. The Limelight
      3. Liquid Sunshine

      Latest Pre-Sales

      112 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top