Romantic Psychology 1

Image of Levantis - Romantic Psychology 1
Record Label

About this item

Darren Cunningham (better known as Actress) arrives at Ninja Tune's singles offshoot Technicolour with the first new material under his Levantis moniker since 2013's "Believe EP" on Trilogy Tapes. Not only is this the first long player released under this alias, but it's also the first album in the Technicolour catalogue. Reportedly "about Nigredo and possession of the shadow", "Romantic Psychology 1" finds Cunningham in typically experimental form, dragging serrated metallic synths over distorted drums and hazy field recordings. Gloomy, dark and sludgey, the eleven compostitions on the LP see the prodcer drop deeper into the mordant melancholy of his "Hazyville" LP, reminding us why he's one of the most groundbreaking artists around. 

The black 180g vinyl LP is housed in an Inspira deep black sleeve with spot varnish type and includes an artwork insert by Eve Ackroyd printed on uncoated 300gsm art card. MP3 download code also enclosed.


1. Exploding Boxes
2. Red Blocks
3. Yogurt
4. Pieris Rapae
5. Undr
6. Stained Glass
7. Altered Anthem
8. Colour
9. Whispering Sky
10. Jamaican Greek Style
11. Slow Electronic Beat With Colour

Back to top