The Fall

The Real New Fall LP (Formerly Country On The Click) - 20th Anniversary Edition

Image of The Fall - The Real New Fall LP (Formerly Country On The Click) - 20th Anniversary Edition

About this item

Originally recorded at Lisa Stansfield's Gracieland Studios in between December 2002 and January 2003 with producer Grant Showbiz.

The subtitle is explained by the fact that the tracks were originally scheduled for release in April 2003 under the title ‘Country on the Click’. Promotional copies were sent out and three of the new songs were previewed in the band's 23rd Peel Session, but Mark. E Smith was unhappy with the mix and decided it needed further work.

Alex Linhardt of Pitchfork called it "as valuable an album as anything The Fall ever released in the 1990s" and stated that "Smith's lyrics are at a near career-best of insolence and nonsense.” AllMusic's David Jeffries wrote that the album "gives the faithful another reason to believe". Helen Pidd, reviewing the album for The Guardian, viewed Smith as being "on magnificently mad form”. Uncut called it "Great by Smith’s standards. Practically genius by everybody else’s.” Spin praised it as "an atavistic orgy of recycled riffs and lifelong obsessions". MOJO reviewed it as "as good as anything in this group's monstrous catalogue”. Pop Matters called it "their best record in a decade”.

This Set as with the other Fall reissues has been compiled in conjunction with Fall expert Conway Patton and has notes by Fall guru Daryl Easlea and was mastered by long time engineer Andy Pearce with art by Becky Stewart.


Vinyl Tracklisting:
Side 1:
1 Green Eyed Locomotion
2 Mountain Energi
3 Theme From Sparta FC
4 Contraflow
5 Last Commands OF Xyralothep Via MES
6 Janet, Johnny And James
Side 2:
1 The Past #2
2 Open The Boxoctosis #2
3 Loop 41 ‘Houston
4 Mike’s Love Xexagon
5 Proteinprotection
6 Recovery Kit

CD Box Set:
The Real New Fall LP Formerly 'Country On The Click'
1 Green Eyed Loco-Man
2 Mountain Energei
3 Theme From Sparta F.C.
4 Contraflow
5 Last Commands Of Xyralothep Via M.E.S.
6 Open The Boxoctosis #2
7 Janet, Johnny + James
8 The Past #2
9 Loop41 `Houston
10 Mike's Love Xexagon
11 Proteinprotection
12 Recovery Kit

Country On The Click (Original Version)
1 Sparta
2 Protein Protection
3 Mountain Energei
4 Contraflow
5 Green Eyed
6 Boxoctosis
7 Ho(E)uston
8 The Past
9 Recovery Kit
10 Mike's Love Xexagon
11 Susan V Youthclub

1 All Clasp Hands
2 Blindness
3 What About Us?
4 I'm Ronney The Oney
5 Green-Eyed Snorkel
6 Mod Mock Goth
7 Wrong Place
8 Sparta FC No:3
9 Mere Pseud Mag Ed
10 Spoilt Victorian Childe
11 Boxoctosis Alarum

Singles / Sessions
1 Susan Vs Youthclub - Single
2 Janet Vs Johnny - B-Side
3 Susan Vs Youthclub - Remix
4 (We Wish You A) Protein Christmas - Single
5 (We Are) Mod Mock Goth - Single
6 (Birtwistle's) Girl In Shop - Single
7 Recovery Kit 2 # - Single
8 (We Are) Mod Mock Goth - US Album Edit
9 Theme From Sparta F.C. #2 - Single
10 My Ex-Classmate’s Kids (Live Cologne 2001) - B-Side
11 Portugal (aka Debacle (For The Record)) - B-Side
12 Theme From Sparta F.C. - Peel Session
13 Contraflow - Peel Session
14 Grooving With Mr Bloe / Green-Eyed Loco Man - Peel Session
15 Mere Pseud Mag Ed. - Peel Session

Live At The Knitting Factory - New
York - 9 April 2004
1 Horror In Clay
2 Boxoctosis
3 Contraflow
4 Middle Mass
5 Mere Pseud Mag Ed
6 Mountain Energei
7 I Can Hear The Grass Grow
8 Telephone Thing
9 Theme From Sparta F.C.
10 Janet, Johnny And James
11 Groovin' With Mr Bloe / Green Eyed Loco Man
12 Walk Like A Man
13 Mr Pharmacist
14 Mike's Love Xexagon / We Are Mod Mock Goth
15 I Am Damo Suzuki
16 Dr Buck's Letter
17 Loop 41

Back to top