The Fall

Code: Selfish - 2023 Reissue

Image of The Fall - Code: Selfish - 2023 Reissue
Record Label
Proper Records

About this item

Formed in 1976, by 1990, The Fall had been through 18 line ups, releasing 14 albums and 24 singles - The only constant was leader, vocalist Mark Edward Smith – welded to the work ethic, creating music that stunned in its obscure brilliance; railing against mediocrity, failing against the status quo It was all change when The Fall signed to Fontana. Guitarist Martin Bramah, who had founded the group with Smith, returned, replacing Smith's ex-wife Brix, who had been in the group since 1983. There were few cries of sell-out, however, when The Fall signed to a major; it was just part of an evolutionary process. The three Fontana albums, Extricate, Shift- Work and Code: Selfsh were stunningly consistent.

1992's Code: Selfsh marked the arrival of Dave Bush to the group on keyboards, bringing a harder, techno- edge to the work. Less focussed than its predecessors, the album reveals its considerable charms gradually – the initially impenetrable seven- minute splurge of opener of The Birmingham School of Business School gives way to the Top 40 commercialism of Free Range. The glam stomp of Immortality and Two- Face! are counteracted with the wistful introspection of Time Enough At Last and Gentleman's Agreement.

This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1992 Fontana Records UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.


1. The Birmingham School Of Business School
2. Free Range
3. Return
4. Time Enough At Last
5. Everything Hurtz
6. Immortality
7. Two-Face!
8. Just Waiting
9. So-Called Dangerous
10. Gentlemen's Agreement
11. Married, 2 Kids
12. Crew Filth

Back to top