The Fall

Marshall Suite - 2023 Reissue

Image of The Fall - Marshall Suite - 2023 ReissueImage of The Fall - Marshall Suite - 2023 Reissue
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>
Record Label
Music On Vinyl

About this item

The Marshall Suite from 1999 builds on the techno-influenced beats of its predecessor Levitate, while also returning to a more rockabilly-influenced sound reminiscent of earlier Fall line-ups with songs such as the catchy "Touch Sensitive" and the strange, complex, thumping jungle beats of "The Crying Marshal".

The Marshall Suite was made immediately after an American tour during which Mark E. Smith had an onstage fight with members of the band and was arrested following ongoing altercations at the hotel at which the group were staying. While the remaining band members quit and returned to England, leaving Smith in a cell in Manhattan, Julia Nagle chose to stay in the band, helping to assemble the group's new line-up. During the recording of the album, this new line-up was still taking shape and the album features two different bassists. None the less it was a very well-received album at the time and is highly collectible by now.


Side A
1. Touch Sensitive
2. F-'Oldin' Money
3. Shake-Off
4. Bound
5. This Perfect Day

Side B
1. (Jung Nev's) Antidotes
2. Inevitable
3. Anecdotes + Antidotes In B#
4. Finale : Tom Ragazzi

Side C
1. Early Life Of Crying Marshal
2. The Crying Marshal
3. Birthday Song
4. Mad.Men-Eng.Dog
5. On My Own

Side D
(Blank/No Music)

Back to top