The Fall

Extricate - 2023 Reissue

Image of The Fall - Extricate - 2023 Reissue
Record Label
Proper Records

About this item

It was all change when The Fall signed to Fontana. Guitarist Martin Bramah, who had founded the group with Smith, returned, replacing Smith's ex-wife Brix, who had been in the group since 1983. There were few cries of sell-out, however, when The Fall signed to a major; it was just part of an evolutionary process. The three Fontana albums, Extricate, Shift- Work and Code: Selfsh were stunningly consistent.

Released in February 1990, Extricate was a big bold statement, coopting some Madchester beats into The Fall's mix, with the band and Smith on excellent form. From the catchy indie of Hilary and The Littlest Rebel, the oblique attack on past lovers in Sing! Harpy, and the touching rumination on death and new love, Bill Is Dead, Extricate is one of the group's most coherent albums. Smith also worked with dance producers Coldcut updating the Lisa Stansfeld sung track My Telephone as Telephone Thing.

This re- issue faithfully replicates the original 1990 Fontana Records UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.


1. Sing! Harpy
2. I'm Frank
3. Bill Is Dead
4. Black Monk Theme Part I
5. Popcorn Double Feature
6. Telephone Thing
7. Hilary
8. Chicago, Now!
9. The Littlest Rebel
10. And Therein...

Back to top