Prins Thomas


Image of Prins Thomas - 5
Record Label
Prins Thomas Musikk

About this item

Rejoice, for here is the latest LP from Prins Thomas, long standing Piccadilly hero and legend of Norwegian cosmic/ambient/house/techno/psyche/ - this is getting silly, he essentially does what he wants and it's always amazing. Whatever genre he's dipping his toes in, Thomas' productions always share a few key qualities - expansive, cinematic scope, hypnotic rhythms, propulsive bass and the kind of epic, overarching melodies that sound frankly ecstatic at a high volume. Operating on his own Prins Thomas Musikk imprint, and free from the conceptual constraints of"Principe Del Norte", Thomas treats us to his most diverse long player to date, gracefully translating his love of shoegaze, acid, prog and funk into a groove-filled sound all of his own. Opener "Here Comes The Band" blasts us into a kosmische orbit with heavy Hawkwind bass and churning synth, before the tempo drops for the mellow and melancholic "Villajoyosa", a brilliant blend of odd acid bass, schmindie guitar and funk drums. From there "Bronchi Beat" drops us into slow-release ambient techno (of sorts) before "5.13" harks back to the cosmic boogie of L&PT's "Turkish Delight" or Thomas' second solo LP. "Æ" gives us churning drugged up disorientation, "Ø" goes off on an Ibizan stakeout while "Lunga Strada" zooms through the German heartland, only to end up in the heat of an imaginary sunset. There's still four tracks to go, but I'm struggling to contain my excitement within our strict word count. You can write your own notes when you buy your copy.


Patrick says: Thomas shakes off the genre constraints (I've never noticed any to be honest) to combine everything he loves about music into another sonic voyage. Indie guitars, motorik drums, acid synths and techno bass, all soaked with PT's psychedelic touch!


1.Here Comes The Band 5:48
2.Villajoyosa 5:11
3.Bronchi Beat 7:17
4. 5:13
5. Æ 7:16
6. Ø 6:21
7. Lunga Strada 7:55
8. London Til Lisboa 8:14
9. Å 5:27
10. Venter På Torske 4:29
11. Aske Hermansen 7:18

A 1.Here Comes The Band 5:48
2.Villajoyosa 5:11
3.Bronchi Beat 7:17

B1. 5:13
2. Æ 7:16
3. Ø 6:21

C 1. Lunga Strada 7:55
2. London Til Lisboa 8:14

D 1. Å 5:27
2. Venter På Torske 4:29
3. Aske Hermansen 7:18

Back to top