Search Results for:

ZEN 2000

For its fourth release, Zen 2000 scales up from the 45 format and releases its first 12-inch, which, coming in at seven tracks (eight with the digital-only bonus) is either a double-wide EP or an LP in everything but name.

The artist behind it is Mogwaa, a South Korean producer who's built a reputation on meticulous and clean-lined melodies and sharp, glistening drums. Sometimes we find him in the club, slinking through dubby bass wobbles, flittering across breaks, and sometimes we find him in a grassy park, sprawled atop a soft ambient bed. No matter where he is, the trademark voicing is always present.

Here, on A Garden Within, we get equal helpings of both: the A-side is the chill-out room, spacey drifters that pulse through the cosmos and wiggle through underwater currents.

The flip is clubbier fare, with “Rejas” being a nod to electro sounds and “Tranquilizer” being a trippy bit of trance. Bookending the journey is “Melting,” an iceberg slowly cracking and falling into the ocean. “Con Fe” is an encore of sorts; it feels like a reconstituting of “Melting,” the reforming of that track's languid dissolution.


Matt says: Undeniably strong EP taking on downbeat, techno and breaks with a modernist approach. The South Korean producer showing us there's more in his locker than rampant bass and jungle hybrids.


A1. Step Under The Bridge
A2. Zone Out
A3. Pavilion
A4. Musing
B1. Rejas
B2. Tranquilizer
B3. Melting

Latest Pre-Sales


E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top