Search Results for:


Orquesta Akokán


    On this, their third album, they combine talents with Cuban lyricist, singer and composer Kiko Ruiz, who has toured and recorded with Pancho Amatʼs illustrious Estrellas del Buena Vista Social Club as well as having a longstanding history as a singer, composer and arranger with Orquesta Maria Alejandra y Cubanía.

    Caracoles ushers (GRAMMY-award nominated) Orquesta Akokánʼs unique brand of mambo into the 21st century, imbuing it with the groupʼs signature sense of akokán–a Cuban Yoruba word meaning “from the heart”.

    Back at the helm are producer and multi instrumentalist, Jacob Plasse and virtuosic pianist, composer and arranger Michael Eckroth - a collaboration that continues to lead Orquestaʼs exploration of the sublime mambo in all its depth and breadth. 


    1. Con Licencia
    2. Pan Con Tibiri
    3. Caracoles
    4. Suave Suave
    5. Cha-Cha-Cha Pa’ca
    6. La Fiera
    7. Pregonero
    8. Las Sieta Vidas Da Inés
    9. Flor De Mi Campo
    10. Dona Felipa

    Orquesta Akokan

    Orquesta Akokan

      Direct from Cuba! Daptone Records is proud to introduce Orquesta Akoka?n, a big band collective of Havana's top musicians both young and old, joining forces with some of the most creative and spirited talents of New York's Latin music scene.

      Born out of a shared vision by singer Jose? "Pepito" Go?mez, producer Jacob Plasse, and arranger Michael Eckroth, the group reinvigorates the sound of the golden era of Cuban mambo with a bold new energy.

      Featuring all-original music cut live to tape over a three day session at Havana's hallowed state-run Estudios Areito - one of the longest operating studios in the world and where seminal Cuban records have been made since the early '40s, and more contemporarily with the 1997 release of the Buena Vista Social Club album - the group's self titled debut feels like a heartfelt gift from the band to listener. Which is no coincidence being that Akoka?n is a Yoruba word used in Cuba meaning "from the heart", and indeed every song presented here is just that.

      This is a fascinating next step for Daptone, which released the final album by Sharon Jones and the Dap- Kings and mourned the loss of Charles Bradley in 2017. ‘Orquesta Akoka?n’ finds the label branching outside its own studios to release its first Spanish language album.

      Latest Pre-Sales

      223 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top