Search Results for:


Malcolm Middleton


    Malcolm Middleton is back, again, with his seventh studio album Bananas, this time on the East Neuk of Fife’s Triassic Tusk Records. The guitarist and songwriter is best known for his work with Aidan Moffat in the Scottish indie band ARAB STRAP, as well as for his string of DPR$$N-CORE smash hit solo singles “Fuck It, I Love You", "We're All Going To Die" and "Balled Of Fuck All”. On Bananas Malcolm has teamed up with the acclaimed not-jazz trio (David Jeans DRUMS, Stevie Jones DOUBLE BASS and Graeme Smillie PIANO) to produce an album that is both scathing and nice. Malcolm continues to report back from the depths of the everyday, whilst simultaneously attempting to monetise hell.

    Adding a dose of saccharine to the mix are the Samaratinesque choir of Kenny Anderson (KING CREOSOTE), Jenny Reeve (BDY_PRTS) and Dan Willson (WITHERED HAND). Recorded and Mixed by Paul Savage (Mogwai, Delgados) at Chem19 Studios in Glasgow. Track listing 1/Gut Feeling 2/Love Is A Momentary Lapse In Self-Loathing 3/What A Life 4/Buzz Lightyear Helmet 5/Twilight Zone 6/That Voice Again 7/Man Up, Man Down 8/Salamander Gray Malcolm will be on tour in Europe during Autumn 2019. “Right up there with Nick Cave, Leonard Cohen and Johnny Cash” (SUNDAY TELEGRAPH) “Middleton shows off impressive acoustic guitar skills oddly reminiscent of a young Paul Simon” (THE TIMES) “Achieves ABBA-like moments of pop greatness” (MOJO) “Malcolm has a warm, immediately engaging voice that makes even his saddest songs sound strangely joyful” (THE GUARDIAN)

    Malcolm Middleton

    Summer Of '13

    His first album for seven years and the sixth solo album from the ex-Arab Strap man, is set for release on the relaunched Nude Records. In Malcolm's songs hope and optimism have always existed (they were just well hidden) and ‘catchy’ has always been his prime prerogative, but with the new album glimmering with heady production, this clearly shines through. Calling upon the expertise of Glasgow-based dance producer Miaoux Miaoux, the album also features guest appearances by Beta Band/The Aliens founder Gordon Anderson aka Lone Pigeon (also creator of the album’s artwork, technicolour photography and who became a 'soundboard' for Malcolm after he moved into the cottage next door). De Rosa's Martin John Henry and First Aid Kit’s Scott Simpson also add to the albums sonic swirl and sense of fun.

    A wonky tonk fun-land of squelching synths and sweeping strings, ‘Steps’ is a cosmic space ride through pitch bends and vocal manipulation whilst ‘Information In The Voice’ unexpectedly drops pop RnB hip hop. But it’s never without feeling; take the romantic ‘You & I’ or shimmering and rhapsodic ‘Big Black Hole’ with its twinkling piano hook. Put together, there’s a neon glow of 80s new wave, alongside smoggier shades of the Chromatics or Johnny Jewel‘s Glass Candy. Malcolm has always enjoyed challenging his listeners and this time around is no exception.


    1: Steps
    2: You & I
    3: Information In The Voice
    4: Brackets
    5: Like John Lennon Said
    6: Little Hurricane
    7: Music Ticks
    8: Summer Of '13
    9: Big Black Hole
    10: Lullaby

    Malcolm Middleton

    5:14 Fluoxytine Seagull Alcohol John Nicotine

      After the Lucky Pierre (AKA Aidan Moffat) album last week, it's now the turn of the other half of Scottish misery legends Arab Strap. Originally recorded as acoustic tracks, but reworked for this album, with a little help from friends Aidan Moffat (Arab Strap), Jenny Reeve (Eva) and Barry Burns (Mogwai).

      Latest Pre-Sales

      205 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top