Search Results for:



II - 2023 Repress

    Now available repressed on red vinyl, LNZNDRF’s ‘II’ is a mass hypnotism, somehow both thunderous and trance-inducing. Recorded in extensive, shamanistic jam sessions at Austin’s Public Hi-Fi in September 2019 and later edited down to give it shape, these songs feel like Right Now, with some toes testing the waters of the future.

    The brothers Scott and Bryan Devendorf (The National), Ben Lanz (The National, Beirut) and multi-instrumentalist Aaron Arntz (Beirut, Grizzly Bear) are in headlamps and spelunking gear, descending into a somnambulant space.

    Album deep cut ‘Ringwoodite’, with its skittering, lithe and precise drums, is a summer sparkler of a song, whizzing by at such a clip it leaves you giddily following its traces. On its heels are the computer lover ‘Gaskiers’ and come-on-slow motorik anthem ‘Stowaway’ that, while not connected by sound, work in tandem to put LNZNDRF fully in the canon of strange and indelible krautrock.

    Its incantations seem to beckon the dystopia of present day as much as they beckon the Big Mystery awaiting us when we finally bust through its barrier. It won’t be a utopia but it will at least be something different. As it goes on the lysergic postpunk standout ‘You Still Rip’: “We’ll live like fruitless trees towards endless breeze linked as we please, the burning bridges smolder in our wake.”


    1. The Xeric Steppe
    2. Brace Yourself
    3. You Still Rip
    4. Cascade
    5. Chicxulub
    6. Ringwoodite
    7. Gaskiers
    8. Stowaway

    This trio comprises of The National's rhythm section, brothers Scott and Bryan Devendorf along with Trombonist / arranger Ben Lanz who has worked with Beirut and Sufjan Stevens amongst others.

    LNZNDRF’s debut is rock minimalism meets sonic maximalism. Recorded in a church in Cincinnati over two and a half days, the eight songs on the album were improvised with a vital spirit harking back to the reason the members became musicians in the first place.

    The songs, which were edited from 30+ minute jams, evoke the essence of their expansive, largely improvised live shows.


    01 Future You
    02 Beneath The Black Sea
    03 Mt. Storm
    04 Kind Things
    05 Hypno-Skate
    06 Stars And Time
    07 Monument
    08 Samarra

    Latest Pre-Sales

    186 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top