Search Results for:


Hiatus Kaiyote follow up their huge LP, "Mood Valiant" with a Halloween inspired single, "Canopic Jar". Expanding on the band's already maverick ethos, "Journey To The Crystal Tomb" and "Canopic Jar" both take huge risks with arrangement, dynamics and timbre. Constructing a wild palette of instrumentation on which to inflict their hard funk slog, both tracks bang hard and twist melons with inventive, out-there sonics.

The 12" comes with instrumental and acapella versions which should keep their ever-growing army of hip-hop leaning fans happy. A band with maximum crossover appeal, their extensive touring alone has also earned them a die-hard, cult following and numerous VIP collaborations.

The band is comprised of Naomi 'Nai Palm' Saalfield (guitar, vocals), Paul Bender (bass), Simon Mavin (keys), and Perrin Moss (drums).


Matt says: Modern and experimental funk-soul troupe that's rightfully garnering adoration across the LA beat scene. Their hefty beats and nonconformist hooks instantly turn heads while their fuzz heavy, raw production bites at even the most ardent of funk fans.


Side A
1. Journey To The Crystal Tomb
2. Canopic Jar

Side B
1. Canopic Jar (Instrumental)
2. Canopic Jar (Acapella)

Hiatus Kaiyote

Mood Valiant

    Hiatus Kaiyote is comprised of Naomi “Nai Palm” Saalfield (guitar, vocals), Paul Bender (bass), Simon Mavin (keys), and Perrin Moss (drums)

    The new album has been in the making for six years, but that interval reflects more hustle than hiatus. The result is an album that relaxes into a groove: sunlit, sublime, masterful. Behind everything is Hiatus’ familiar sense of musical adventure, their knack for making the complex sound simple.

    The six year journey of the album originally began on the road, as they began to add new material to their live sets in while touring in support of Choose Your Weapon. By the fall of 2018, backing tracks had largely been laid, ready for Nai’s vocals. Then, during a brief swing through the U.S., Hiatus’s frontwoman was diagnosed with breast cancer. “That was a massive scare,” recalls Nai. Her mother’s death from the same disease was never far from her mind. Nai rushed back to Australia and into the hospital, where she underwent a life-saving mastectomy. As Nai recovered, the band turned back to their work with altered perspectives. Her lyrics, even those written before her illness, took on a prescient quality. It wasn't until a trip to Rio de Janeiro in late-2019 to work with legendary Brazilian arranger Arthur Verocai on "Get Sun" that the vibe of the entire album shifted.


    Matt says: Staples of the modern funk and soul scene, HK return with, surprisingly, only their third album to date. A hard touring schedule combined with impeccable quality control has restrained (read: distilled) this act into only releasing their most quality of jams. For this we must thank them - presenting their sound as high quality, easy to digest dishes of soul food.


    Side A

    1. Flight Of The Tiger Lily
    2. Sip Into Something Soft
    3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
    4. And We Go Gentle
    5. Get Sun (feat. Arthur Verocai)
    6. All The Words We Don’t Say

    Side B
    1. Hush Rattle
    2. Rose Water
    3. Red Room
    4. Sparkle Tape Break Up
    5. Stone Or Lavender
    6. Blood And Marrow


    1. Flight Of The Tiger Lily
    2. Sip Into Something Soft
    3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
    4. And We Go Gentle
    5. Get Sun (feat. Arthur Verocai)
    6. All The Words We Don't Say
    7. Hush Rattle
    8. Rose Water
    9. Red Room
    10. Sparkle Tape Break Up
    11. Stone Or Lavender
    12. Blood And Marrow

    Latest Pre-Sales

    165 NEW ITEMS

    Some Sunday classics here for you. OPEN 11 - 5 today.
    Sun 22nd - 10:10
    Tonight @porridgeradio take to the stage @nightanddaycafe for our very special SOLD OUT out-store 🙌 Stage times:…
    Fri 20th - 4:20
    Congratulations to Joanne who won one of only 10 hand painted versions of the new album from @porridgeradio ‘Waters…
    Fri 20th - 11:12
    Evángelos Odysséas Papathanassíou - thank you for the music, Vangelis. 1943 - 2022
    Fri 20th - 8:23
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top