Search Results for:


David Byrne & Fatboy Slim

Here Lies Love - Limited Edition

"Here Lies Love" is a double-disc song cycle, improbably poignant, decidedly surreal, surprisingly thought provoking - about the rise and fall of the Philippines' notorious Imelda Marcos. It was conceived by David Byrne; composed by Byrne and Fatboy Slim, AKA Norman Cook; and performed by a dream cast drawn from the worlds of indie rock, alt country, R&B and pop. Byrne's taste in collaborators is as imaginative as it is impeccable, including Cyndi Lauper (who recounts, to light-hearted disco beats, Imelda's courtship with Ferdinand Marcos), Steve Earle (as the power-hungry Ferdinand), Dap-Kings vocalist Sharon Jones (recalling Imelda's introduction into New York society) and Natalie Merchant (as spurned Imelda confidante Estrella, anticipating the onset of martial law). Along with vocals turns from such stars as Tori Amos and the B-52's Kate Pierson, Byrne works with rising indie rockers St Vincent and My Brightest Diamond; New York chanteuses Nellie McKay and Martha Wainwright; and dance-music divas Roisin Murphy and Santigold. Byrne himself appears as the voice of imperialistic America on "American Troglodyte", a send-up that wouldn't have seemed out of places in Talking Heads' "True Stories".


Disc 1
1. Here Lies Love - Feat. Florence Welch (Florence & The Machine)
2. Every Drop Of Rain - Feat. Candie Payne & St. Vincent
3. You'll Be Taken Care Of - Feat. Tori Amos
4. The Rose Of Tacloban - Feat. Martha Wainwright
5. How Are You? - Feat. Nellie McKay
6. A Perfect Hand - Feat. Steve Earle
7. Eleven Days - Feat. Cyndi Lauper
8. When She Passed By - Feat. Allison Moorer
9. Walk Like A Woman - Feat. Charmaine Clamor
10. Don't You Agree? - Feat. Roisin Murphy
11. Pretty Face - Feat. Camille
12. Ladies In Blue - Theresa Andersson

Disc 2
1. Dancing Together - Feat. Sharon Jones
2. Men Will Do Anything - Feat. Alice Russell
3. The Whole Man - Feat. Kate Pierson
4. Never So Big - Feat. Sia
5. Please Don't - Feat. Santi White (Santigold)
6. American Troglodyte
7. Solano Avenue - Feat. Nicole Atkins
8. Order 1081 - Natalie Merchant
9. Seven Years - Feat. Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond)
10. Why Don't You Love Me? - Feat. Tori Amos & Cyndi Lauper

1. Eleven Days - Feat. Cyndi Lauper
2. When She Passed By - Feat. Allison Moorer
3. Don't You Agree? - Feat. Roisin Murphy
4. Dancing Together - Feat. Sharon Jones
5. Please Don't - Feat. Santi White (Santigold)
6. Order 1081 - Feat Natalie Merchant

Latest Pre-Sales


Some Sunday classics here for you. OPEN 11 - 5 today.
Sun 22nd - 10:10
Tonight @porridgeradio take to the stage @nightanddaycafe for our very special SOLD OUT out-store 🙌 Stage times:…
Fri 20th - 4:20
Congratulations to Joanne who won one of only 10 hand painted versions of the new album from @porridgeradio ‘Waters…
Fri 20th - 11:12
Evángelos Odysséas Papathanassíou - thank you for the music, Vangelis. 1943 - 2022
Fri 20th - 8:23
E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top