Various Artists

Erol Alkan Reworks Vol. 1

Image of Various Artists - Erol Alkan Reworks Vol. 1
Record Label
Phantasy Sound

About this item

Phantasy release ‘Reworks Volume 1’, a comprehensive collection of remixes from prodigious DJ and producer Erol Alkan.

‘Reworks Volume 1’ is a musical overview of what makes Erol Alkan one of his generation’s most iconic remixers. Framing a corner of his career in perspective - a success in taking on any source material and melding it into something of his own. Alkan’s philosophy towards a remix is to ‘re-produce’ work as if the original never existed. Avoiding methods like the transplanting of a vocal on a contemporary dance beat, or adding a four-to-the-floor 808 kick drum underneath a rock band, Alkan instead takes a considered approach to build something new that offers a fresh and divergent take on the music in front of him.

This collection of reworks illustrates that his distinct style of remixing is just another layer in what makes Erol Alkan unique to dance music. Unpredictable but equipped with a Midas touch - you never quite know what’s coming but you can count on it to be special, a quality shared between both his DJ sets and his production work. Erol Alkan is a dance music artist with an alternative sensibility, a psychedelic approach and a punk outlook - what makes him stand apart in dance music is what makes him one of the genre’s most enduring and influential artists.

‘Reworks Volume 1’ looks back on over a decade of realigning other artists, including his classic versions of Justice’s ‘Waters Of Nazareth’, Connan Mockasin’s ‘Forever Dolphin Love’ and Death From Above 1979’s ‘Romantic Rights’, remixes that have added new perspective and dimensions to the originals, at times performing alchemy, turning rock into dance music on reworks for Franz Ferdinand, Interpol and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and he’s just as comfortable taking on fellow dance music producers like Lindstrøm, Daft Punk and Hot Chip - a connection which lead to the classic rework of ‘Boy From School’.

The double CD edition brings together 20 reworks across two CDs and comes with a booklet which includes an exclusive interview with Erol Alkan.


Tame Impala - Why Won’t You Make Up Your Mind (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)
Death From Above 1979 - Romantic Rights (Erol Alkan’s Love From Below Re-Edit)
Justice - Waters Of Nazareth (Erol Alkan’s Durrr Durrr Durrrrr Re-Edit)
LA Priest - Engine (Erol Alkan’s Transonic Re-Edit)
Gonzales - Never Stop (Erol Alkan Rework)
Kindness - Gee Up (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)
Hot Chip - Boy From School (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)
Scissor Sisters - I Don’t Feel Like Dancing (Erol Alkan’s Carnival Of Light Rework)
Klaxons - Golden Skans (Erol Alkan’s Ekstra Spektral Rework)
Connan Mockasin - Forever Dolphin Love (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)

Franz Ferdinand - Do You Want To (Erol Alkan’s Glam Racket)
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Zero (Erol Alkan Rework)
The Emperor Machine - RMI Is All I Want (Erol Alkan Extended Rework
Daft Punk - The Brainwasher (Erol Alkan’s Horrorhouse Dub)
New Order - Singularity (Erol Alkan’s Stripped Mix)
Metronomy - The Bay (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)
MGMT - Congratulations (Erol Alkan Rework)
Nightworks - Long Forgotten Boy (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)
Beyond The Wizards Sleeve - White Crow (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)
Todd Rundgren, Emil Nikolaisen, Hans-Peter Lindstrøm - Runddans (Erol Alkan’s Extended Rework)

You may also like

Back to top