The Only Ones

The Only Ones - 2024 Reissue

Image of The Only Ones - The Only Ones - 2024 Reissue
Record Label
Music On Vinyl

About this item

Two years after their formation, the English power pop band The Only Ones released their self-titled debut album in 1978. Led by the raffish and slightly scuzzy romance-obsessed Peter Perrett, The Only Ones played not-so-fast guitar rock that sounded deeply indebted to the New York Dolls and other mid-70s proto-punks. Their debut album The Only Ones is regarded as a classic of the first wave of UK punk and features the brilliant hit “Another Girl, Another Planet”, which is their most successful track and has since been covered by many other performers. Since the Nineties, the album has appeared on several all-time greatest albums lists, including the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die in 2006.


Andy says: The Only Ones' debut in 1978 stood at odds with what was going on with the burgeoning UK punk scene at the time. However, they were embraced by said scene even though singer Peter Perret's drawl could be almost Dylan-ish and his lyrics were far away from the anger and posturing of the new breed. In truth they were a superb rock band but with the occasional jerky, up-tempo number to make them seem current. They were above pigeon-holing though and here was an LP to prove it. Includes one of the greatest songs ever written in Another Girl Another Planet.


1. The Whole Of The Law
2. Another Girl, Another Planet
3. Breaking Down
4. City Of Fun
5. The Beast

1. Creature Of Doom
2. It’s The Truth
3. Language Problem
4. No Peace For The Wicked
5. The Immortal Story

Back to top