House Of Love

Babe Rainbow - 2023 Reissue

Image of House Of Love - Babe Rainbow - 2023 Reissue
Record Label

About this item

The House Of Love – guitarist and vocalist Guy Chadwick, lead guitarist Terry Bickers, bassist Chris Groothuizen and drummer Pete Evans – formed in London in 1986 - Chadwick had been around the music industry for several years, but was energised seeing The Jesus And Mary Chain, inspiring him to form the band - Signing to Creation, The House Of Love were greeted enthusiastically by the music press and their single, Shine On and self-titled debut album became indie disco classics - By 1989, the band were big news and had signed to Fontana, part of the PolyGram group.

The touring and promotion for The House Of Love took its toll on the group with lead guitarist Terry Bickers leaving the group to be replaced with Simon Walker. Taking its name from a Peter Blake painting, Babe Rainbow was released in July 1992. Overseen by The The and Julian Cope producer Warne Livesey, it has a tremendous urgency and greater unity than their previous album. Trailed by the single The Girl With The Loneliest Eyes, Babe Rainbow also contains live favourite Crush Me, the brooding High In Your Face and Top 50 hits Feel and You Don't Understand. Simon Walker left the group and was replaced with Simon Mawby, who himself was to depart by the end of 1992.


You Don't Understand
Crush Me
High In Your Face
Fade Away
The Girl With The Loneliest Eyes
Burn Down The World
Philly Phile
Yer Eyes

Back to top