Dinosaur Jr.

Dinosaur - 2023 Reissue

Image of Dinosaur Jr. - Dinosaur - 2023 Reissue
Record Label
Baked Goods Records

About this item

Dinosaur is the debut studio album by Dinosaur Jr. It was originally released in 1985 on Homestead Records. The album exhibits a folkier side of the band than on future releases but some of the tracks on the album showed off a much heavier, more hardcore punk-based side to the band in songs such as "Does it Float", "Mountain Man" and "Bulbs of Passion." "Bulbs of Passion" was not featured on the original LP (it was a b-side to the "Repulsion" single). On later reissues as on this one "Bulbs of Passion" is the first track at J Mascis' request. "Yeah, I asked for that," J recalls, "because [that song] gave our new direction - it felt like we were our own sound." Also featured is a 1987 live performance of "Does It Float" as a bonus track to close out the album.


1. Bulbs Of Passion
2. Forget The Swan
3. Cats In A Bowl
4. The Leper
5. Does It Float
6. Pointless
7. Repulsion
8. Gargoyle
9. Severed Lips
10. Mountain Man
11. Quest
12. Does It Float (Live)

Back to top