Dinosaur Jr.

Where You Been - National Album Day 2023 Edition

Image of Dinosaur Jr. - Where You Been - National Album Day 2023 Edition
Record Label
Cherry Red

About this item

Formed in 1984, Dinosaur Jr carved a singular path through the latter half of the 1980s and early 1990s, issuing a number of highly influential albums in the process before finding a home with Sire Records. ‘Where You Been’, their fifth record, emerged in 1993, at the height of enthusiasm for grunge and the alternative American rock scene the band had long been part of.

Produced by a new line-up of the group (longtime drummer Murph and new bassist Mike Johnson completing the three-piece), the album became the band’s most successful up to that point, reaching #50 in the US (where it sold over a quarter of a million copies) and #10 in the UK album charts, and spawning the hit single ‘Start Choppin’.

Released to unanimously positive reviews, and containing many tracks that would become staples and fan favourites, ‘Where You Been’ continued Dinosaur Jr’s global ascent, being issued simultaneously across the US, Europe, Australasia, Asia and South America.


Side A:
1. Out There
2. Start Choppin’
3. What Else Is New
4. On The Way
5. Not The Same
Side B:
1. Get Me
2. Drawerings
3. Hide
4. Goin’ Home
5. I Ain’t Sayin

Back to top