Hudson Mohawke

Cry Sugar

Image of Hudson Mohawke - Cry Sugar

About this item

Hudson Mohawke’s third album, ‘Cry Sugar’, deepens his practice of producing motivational music for club goers - uplifting the debauchery and inspiring many through his own brand of anthemic maximalism.

Trading in his lineage in dark UK back alleys filled with Glaswegian antipathy for studio sessions with blazed Pavarotti-inspired tenors and drunk string quartets, Mohawke has dialled in an ongoing fascination with melding high and low culture. Afterall, he is indeed the architect for the high peaks of high-definition trap production that became embellished in the 2010s - a style that has been appropriated in everything from beer can-littered college parties to Arby’s commercials.

American decadence, then, becomes a stage forhis music to thrive - where the DJ booth becomes a composer’s podium for him to conduct the tense drama between debauchery and apocalypse, the ‘mise-en-scene’ of club culture in 2022.


Matt says: Technicoloured, wide-screen bass and synth luminary Hudson Mohawke returns with more of his 5D, extra-fidelity sonic explosions. Taking cues off everything from opera to trap, there's few that push the envelope in such grandiose ways.


A1. Ingle Nook
A2. Intentions
A3. Expo
A4. Behold
A5. Bicstan
A6. Stump
B1. Dance Forever
B2. Bow
B3. Is It Supposed
B4. Lonely Days
C1. Redeem
C2. Rain Shadow
C4. 3 Sheets To The Wind
C5. Some Buzz
D1. Tincture
D2. Nork 69
D3. Come A Little Closer
D4. Ingle Nook Slumber

Back to top