Version 2.0 - Remastered Reissue

Image of Garbage - Version 2.0 - Remastered Reissue

About this item

This was for me the pinnacle of Garbage's early days. Yeah, the self titled LP had the more rawkous, uncompromising grunge of 'Stupid Girl' and 'Only Happy When It Rains' but for me, the 1-2 punch of 'I think I'm Paranoid' and 'When I Grow Up' perfectly laid the groundwork for the euphorically tender second half of the LP.  From the glitchy gothic orchestration of 'The Trick Is To Keep Breathing' to the busy quiet-loud masterpiece that is 'Sleep Together' (*that key change*, spine tingles every time), there is no mistaking that Garbage had set the scene for the electronic indie sound of the 00's. There's something unique about Vig's production here too, lurching between chaotically busy and almost still without breaking step. 


Barry says: It's surprising really that the band that made Version 2.0 could be the same band that made their self-titled debut, with that ostensibly being a grunge album and this veering almost full-force into electronic indie. The tracks here hold up supremely well too, with exactly the moments I remember from the first time around sounding just as good as when I heard them in the late 90's.


CD1 & 2LP Tracklist:
1. A1. Temptation Waits
2. A2. I Think I'm Paranoid
3. A3. When I Grow Up
4. B1. Medication
5. B2. Special
6. B3. Hammering In My Head
7. C1. Push It
8. C2. The Trick Is To Keep Breathing
9. C3. Dumb
10. D1. Sleep Together
11. D2. Wicked Ways
12. D3. You Look So Fine

CD2 Tracklist:
1. Can't Seem To Make You Mine
2. 13x Forever
3. Deadwood
4. Get Busy With The Fizzy
5. Soldier Through This
6. Thirteen
7. Lick The Pavement
8. Medication (Acoustic)
9. Tornado
10. Afterglow

Back to top