Katy J Pearson


Image of Katy J Pearson - Return
Record Label
Heavenly Recordings

About this item

Return symbolises the re-entry of Pearson into music-making after a previous, collaborative project with her brother fell foul of the pressures of a major label record deal and over the course of two-and-a-half years, between her parents’ house in Gloucestershire, her Bristol bedroom, and nearby community arts space The Island, Pearson honed her craft as a solo artist, learning to rely on her creative instincts, and bringing forth an album just as shaped by the South-West of England as the rich musical history of America’s Southern States.

The songs were strengthened and evolved in a live setting — including in support of Olden Yolk and Cass McCombs on their respective UK and European tours — before being taken to the studio of producer Ali Chant (PJ Harvey, M. Ward, Perfume Genius, Gruff Rhys), where they were captured in their final form. The result is a jewel in the dirt by the side of the highway; ten songs which slide effortlessly between lovelorn country, lo-fi folk and glistening, unforgettable pop.

Having completed a European tour alongside Cass McCombs at the end of last year and appeared at both the End of the Road Christmas party and the Line of Best Fit’s ‘Five Day Forecast’, she returns later in the year for a couple of shows at Sound City in Liverpool and Live at Leeds and a run of headline shows in early 2021.


Barry says: Return is a beatifully upbeat, superbly crafted suite of country-tinged Indie-pop stormers. Some veer a little more towards the introspective, trad country vibes but imbued with a lightness and optimism you rarely hear. Beautiful stuff.


1. Tonight
2. Beautiful Soul
3. Return
4. Something Real
5. Fix Me Up
6. Hey You
7. Miracle
8. Take Back The Radio
9. On The Road
10. Waiting For The Day

Back to top