James Holden

A Cambodian Spring: Original Soundtrack

Image of James Holden - A Cambodian Spring: Original Soundtrack
Record Label
Border Community

About this item

The latest addition to the James Holden archive is an album of solo synth work originally written to accompany the critically-acclaimed documentary ‘A Cambodian Spring’: fourteen tracks of pulsing melancholy, foreboding drone and even the occasional burst of beatless trance in the form of the uplifting arpeggios of surefire album highlight ‘Solidarity Theme’.

Picking up where his classic 2013 album ‘The Inheritors’ left off (and giving ‘Self-Playing Schmaltz’ a new cinematic airing) Holden’s debut soundtrack project combines the sound palette of his beloved Prophet 600 with a cranky old Hammond organ to showcase the full breadth of his musical tastes across the epic documentary format.

The LP includes digital download code and sleevenotes by ‘Imaginary Cities’ author Darran Anderson.


Srey Pov’s Theme
Monk’s Theme Part I
Downturn Medley
Solidarity Theme (Villagers)
Monk’s Theme Part II
The Villagers
Disintegration Drone I
Solidarity Theme (Release)
Monk’s Theme Part III (Exit)
Disintegration Drone II (Torn Cone)
Disintegration Drone III (Death Rattle)
Self-Playing Schmaltz
Srey Pov’s Theme (End Credits)

Back to top