Various Artists

90's House & Garage Compiled By Joey Negro

Image of Various Artists - 90's House & Garage Compiled By Joey Negro
Record Label
Z Records

About this item

Founded way back in 91, Z Records have since amassed a lauded and plentiful collection of singles, albums and compilations. Run by Dave Lee aka Joey Negro, the label has enjoyed success through his unique ability to foster the principles of underground dance music whilst also remaining mindful of commercial appeal.

Through various compilations, Mr Lee has consistently delved deep into the heart of a specific genre or era and selecting a lesser-known series of tracks that give a real insight into the spirit and energy that made that point in time special. Whether it's been gogo, Brit-funk, boogie, Italo house or straight up disco, he has mined deep into his extensive bank of influences and also enlisted the help of some of his most clued-up comrades in offering some unforgettable collections of classics. Next up - he pulls together a collection of his favourite moments across a definitive decade for house and garage: the 90’s. Inclusive of material from Kerri Chandler, Robert Owens and MAW as well as remixes from Mood II Swing and Ron Trent - the compilation is packed with sultry vocal lines and the sort of slick, irresistible grooves that defined the era. Sticking with the ethos of his series, Joey Negro has dug out an olio of music that may have until now ‘slipped under the garage doors’ meaning a lot of the material on this compilation is being digitised for the very first time. In searching deeper and wider than the average compilation, the package provides a thorough insight into why this was such a fertile period for production and gives a nod to the sort of drum patterns, sampling techniques and vocal lines that have inspired the likes of Bicep, Brawther and Huxley amongst many more.


CD One:
1. Fonda Rae - Living In Ecstasy (Mood II Swing Groove Mix Edit)
2. Voices - Voices In My Mind (CJ Mackintosh Remix)
3. Danube Dance - Unique (New York Underground Mix)
4. Donnie Mark - Stand Up For The Soul (Vocal Mix)
5. Janet Rushmore - Joy (Kaoz Gone Insane)
6. Robert Owens - Gotta Work (Final Take)
7. Station Q - That Special Melody (Club Mix)
8. A Bitch Named Johanna - Freak It (Instrumental)
9. Thelma Houston - All Of That (Joey Negro Club Mix)
10. Bougie Soliterre - Got The Bug
11. USG - Ncameu (Ron Trent Main Mix).

CD Two:
1. Gisele Jackson - Love Commandments (Original Vocal Edit)
2. Mateo & Matos - New York Style
3. Leee John - Mighty Power Of Love (Mood II Swing Vox Mix)
4. Club 69 - Let Me Be Your Underwear (Underground Mix)
5. Kerri Chandler - Ladbroke Grove
6. Michael Watford - Love Change Over (Fire Island Club Vocal Mix)
7. Ralphi Rosario - An Instrumental Need (Club Need)
8. Astro Trax - The Energy (Feel The Vibe)
9. BOP Feat. BJ Crosby - Thinkin’ About You (The TM Perspective)
10. Mike Delgado - The Murder Track.

You may also like

Back to top