The Amorphous Androgynous & Peter Hammill

We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal

Image of The Amorphous Androgynous & Peter Hammill - We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal

About this item

The Amorphous Androgynous return with the symphonic, 40-minute prog space-rock concept album ‘We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal’. The album contains 5 epic parts, featuring the legendary Peter Hammill (the Van Der Graaf Generator) on vocals alongside a host of musicians including: Paul Weller (piano and guitar), Ray Fenwick (Spencer Davis Group/Ian Gillan) on lead guitar, Brian Hopper (Caravan/Soft Machine) on sax. The Chesterfield Philharmonic Choir and a 25-piece live orchestral string section round out this sumptuously-recorded album.

‘We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal’ opens with the 13-minute epic of the title track (written with Peter Hammill and Paul Weller). The themes of mortality/immortality are then musically and conceptually catapulted to the far-flung corners of the AA sonic multiverse over 40+ minutes. Channelling A Space Odyssey, the dystopian choirs and moog of ‘Hymortality’ crash full-force into the John-Bonham-like drums of ‘The Immortality Break.’ Meanwhile, ‘Synthony On A Theme of Mortality’ lives up to its name, utilizing the classic 70s Yamaha CS80 synth before progressing to a female wailing aria against classic vintage guitar rock. The whole cosmic trip cascades finally into the harp daydream reverie, choir and romantic strings of ‘Physically I’m Here, Mentally Far, Far Away.’


Matt says: With Peter Hammil in tow, TAA elevate their already psychedelic cosmic sound into stratospheric new realms - ascending through celestial stages of divinity until pure being is presented in all its godlike glory.


1. We Persuade Ourselves We Are Immortal
2. Synthony On A Theme Of Mortality
3. Psych Recap
4. Hymortality
5. The Immortality Break
6. Physically I’m Here, Mentally Far, Far Away

Back to top