Nicolas Bougaïeff

The Upward Spiral

Image of Nicolas Bougaïeff - The Upward Spiral
Record Label

About this item

The Upward Spiral is Nicolas Bougaïeff’s debut fulllength album release on Mute, following the release of three EPs on the seminal electronic label’s techno offshoot, NovaMute.

The new album explores elements of acid, techno and tempo modulation through a compositional lens, drawing on the Canadian-born, Berlin-based artist’s love for avant-garde forms and longstanding relationship with the electronic music community.

Bougaïeff hails from diverse musical background, having studied in a conservatoire setting whilst foraying into anti-authoritarian rave culture. He is also a respected lecturer, regularly teaching masterclasses in composition and speaking at global events such as Mutek and Ableton Loop.
Following the completion of his PhD on minimal techno at the University of Huddersfield, Bougaïeff designed the controllers for Richie Hawtin’s Plastikman Live tour, and co-founded Liine, the company behind the landmark music app Lemur used by astronaut Alexander Gerst on the International Space Station in a live jam with Kraftwerk.


A1 Embrace Hope All Ye Who Enter Here
A2 Thalassaophobia
B1 The Upward Spiral
B2 Inexadorable
C1 Nexus
C2 Flying High
D1 Positive Altitude
D2 Inward Megalith
D3 Listen Carefully To The Heart Beat

Back to top