Eno / Cale

Wrong Way Up (Expanded Edition)

Image of Eno / Cale - Wrong Way Up (Expanded Edition)

About this item

Expanded editions of Wrong Way Up with John Cale, and Spinner with Jah Wobble, will be available on August 21. It is the first time either album has been available in a physical format for 15 years, and marks the 30th anniversary of the Eno/Cale album, and the 25th anniversary of the Eno/Wobble album.

Wrong Way Up marked the historic coming together of two icons of leftfield music. Having both started their careers as creative forces in seminal bands (Eno’s unique synthesizer treatments in Roxy Music and Cale’s viola and bass contributions to the Velvet Underground), they’ve appeared as guest musicians on each other’s records as far back as 1974, the year in which they also made a historic live album with Nico and Kevin Ayers at the Rainbow Theatre in London. They remained friends, and the year prior to Wrong Way Up, Eno produced Cale’s Words For The Dying album. This paved the way for the pair to write and record an album together, notably the first time Eno had delivered a collection of song-based recordings since Before And After Science in 1977. The resulting album is a triumph for both artists, containing the singles “Spinning Away” and “Been There Done That”. “Brian Eno and John Cale’s 1990 collaboration is an album of contention, contrasts, cycles, and pop songs so layered and euphoric it ranks among the best albums either artist has ever made.” - Pitchfork


Vinyl Tracklist:
Side One
1. Lay My Love
2. One Word
3. In The Backroom
4. Empty Frame
5. Cordoba
Side Two
1. Spinning Away
2. Footsteps
3. Been There Done That
4. Crime In The Desert
5. The River
Bonus Tracks Accessible Via Download Card
Grandfather’s House

Non-LP Tracks Originally Released As The B-side To The Spinning Away Single

Tracklist For Both CD Formats:
01. Lay My Love
02. One Word
03. In The Backroom
04. Empty Frame
05. Cordoba
06. Spinning Away
07. Footsteps
08. Been There Done That
09. Crime In The Desert
10. The River
11. Grandfather’s House
12. Palanquin

Tracks 11 And 12 Are Non-album Tracks Originally Released As The B-side To The Spinning Away Single

Back to top