Image of Kele - 2042

About this item

This is Kele’s fourth solo record and, following 2017’s largely acoustic Fatherland (released under his full name and featuring a duet with Olly Alexander from Years and Years), marks something of a return to the adrenalised electronics of his previous two solo records, Trick (2014) and The Boxer (2010), whilst broadening the sonic palette by bringing in elements of his work with Bloc Party and a litany of other influences and ideas. As an artist, Kele Okereke has never stood still, relentlessly seeking new ways in which to present his luminous songs. Whilst sonically markedly different from Fatherland, lyrically 2042 picks up a thread from that record whereby Kele’s life experiences and relationships suffuse the album with some of his most personal lyrics yet.


1. Jungle Bunny
2. Past Lives (Interlude)
3. Let England Burn
4. St Kaepernick Wept
5. Guava Rubicon
6. My Business
7. Ceiling Games
8. Where She Came From (Interlude)
9. Between Me And My Maker
10. Natural Hair (03:45)
11. Cyril's Blood
12. Secrets West 29th
13. Catching Feelings
14. A Day Of National Shame (Interlude)
15. Ocean View
16. Back Burner

Back to top