The Pop Group


Image of The Pop Group - Y

About this item

Y is the highly influential and innovative debut album by The Pop Group, released in 1979. In the same year The Pop Group released their single She is Beyond Good & Evil / 3:38.

The band went on to release 2 further singles, We Are All Prostitutes and Where There Is A Will (Split single with the Slits) and 1 further studio album For How Much Do We Tolerate Mass Murder, before splitting up in 1981.

Frontman, Mark Stewart embarked on a solo career releasing his pioneering album Learning To Live Cope Cowardice in 1983. Gareth Sager and Bruce Smith went on to form Rip Rig & Panic alongside Neneh Cherry.

The Pop Group reformed in 2010 to tour and have since released 2 new studio albums.

The Pop Group’s Y regularly appears in ‘Greatest Album’ lists - such as Pitchfork’s Greatest Albums of the 70’s where it is listed at #35, The Wire’s 100 Most Important Records Ever Made and Uncut Magazine’s 100 Greatest Debut Albums.


Laura says: I first heard The Pop Group in the late 80s at The Wilde Club, a weekly indie night run by legendary Manchester band bIG fLAME (note: correct use of case important). They played "She Is Beyond Good And Evil", which I absolutely loved (still do), and on the strength of that, went out and bought this LP. I played it to death and it became one of my favourite albums (still is).
Lucky for you guys, you can now buy this amazing LP completely remastered and as an added bonus it also includes a 12" of the track that made me fall in love with them in the first place.
Totally uncompromising post-punk genius!


Vinyl Tracklist
A1 Thief Of Fire (Remastered)
A2 Snowgirl (Remastered)
A3 Blood Money (Remastered)
A4 Savage Sea (Remastered)
A5 We Are Time (Remastered)
B1 Words Disobey Me (Remastered)
B2 Don't Call Me Pain (Remastered)
B3 Boys From Brazil (Remastered)
B4 Don't Sell Your Dreams (Remastered)

A1 She Is Beyond Good And Evil (Remastered)
B1 3:38 (Remastered)

CD Tracklist
1 Thief Of Fire (Remastered)
2 Snowgirl (Remastered)
3 Blood Money (Remastered)
4 Savage Sea (Remastered)
5 We Are Time (Remastered)
6 Words Disobey Me (Remastered)
7 Don't Call Me Pain (Remastered)
8 Boys From Brazil (Remastered)
9 Don't Sell Your Dreams (Remastered)
10 She Is Beyond Good And Evil (Remastered)
11 3:38 (Remastered) 

Back to top