Johnny Cash

At Folsom Prison

Image of Johnny Cash - At Folsom Prison
Record Label

About this item

"Johnny Cash At Folsom Prison" fully captures Cash's gritty intensity and hard-headed humanity, capturing a high-energy set performed for an equally spirited audience. With a set list tailored for the occasion, Cash focuses on songs dealing with crime and imprisonment, balancing dark subject matter with wry, playful humor. The album opens, appropriately enough, with the venerable "Folsom Prison Blues," and continues with such outlaw anthems as "Cocaine Blues," "25 Minutes to Go, "The Wall" and "I Got Stripes," alongside such Cash classics as "I Still Miss Someone," "Orange Blossom Special" and "Jackson," with the latter track featuring Cash's wife and frequent duet partner June Carter. The album closes on an inspirational note with "Greystone Chapel," a song written by convict Glen Shirley, which Cash and his band learned especially for this show.


Side A
1. Opening Announcements From Hugh Cherry
2. Blue Suede Shoes - Johnny Cash / Carl Perkins
3. This Ole House - Johnny Cash / The Statler Brothers
4. Announcements And Johnny Cash Intro From Hugh Cherry
5. Folsom Prison Blues
6. Busted
7. Dark As A Dungeon
8. I Still Miss Someone

Side B
1. Cocaine Blues
2. 25 Minutes To Go
3. I'm Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail
4. Orange Blossom Special
5. The Long Black Veil

Side C
1. Send A Picture Of Mother
2. The Wall
3. Dirty Old Egg-Suckin' Dog
4. Flushed From The Bathroom Of Your Heart
5. Joe Bean
6. Jackson - Johnny Cash / June Carter
7. I Got A Woman (with June Carter)

Side D
1. The Legend Of John Henry's Hammer
2. June's Poem
3. Green, Green Grass Of Home
4. Greystone Chapel
5. Closing Theme And Announcements

Back to top