Melt Yourself Down

Melt Yourself Down

Image of Melt Yourself Down - Melt Yourself Down
Record Label
The Leaf Label

About this item

Melt Yourself Down’s self-titled debut album is the sound of Cairo 1957, Cologne 1972, New York 1978, and London 2013.

The group is the brainchild of Pete Wareham (Acoustic Ladyland, Polar Bear), who’s roped in a distinguished crew of brilliant musicians, including Kushal Gaya (Zun Zun Egui), Shabaka Hutchings (Sons Of Kemet, Heliocentrics), Tom Skinner (Hello Skinny, Mulatu Astatke), Ruth Goller (Acoustic Ladyland, Rokia Traoré), and Satin Singh (Fela!)

Together they make a primal, tribal stew of horns and drums and unhinged vocals that bring to mind the Bristol-based punk-jazz craziness of Rip, Rig & Panic, Pig Pag etc. The group's singles ‘We Are Enough’, ‘Fix My Life’ and ‘Release!’ (all featured on this long player, accompanied by brand new tracks) have been tearing up dancefloors and radio playlists since late 2012, with massive support from BBC 6 Music in particular.

“A bazaar sax smackdown that has an iron in every furnace of global psychedelia, smelted into a structure of tungsten strength” - Pitchfork.

“A lurching machine rhythm and lashings of synth squiggles and white noise, re-framing all that modal skronk in electro-industrial terms: it’s Addis Ababa meets Detroit in the year 3013” - Spin.

“A scalp-frazzling chunk of psychedelic funk” - Time Out.

Back to top